New South Wales v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia 1920/21
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 18th, 19th, 21st, 22nd February 1921 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossMarylebone Cricket Club won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresWG Curran, AC Jones
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 402/6 (Fender 58*, Wilson 4*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 268/5 (Taylor 10*)
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 220/3 (Woolley 130*, Douglas 4*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Collins b Mailey41     
W Rhodesc Oldfield b Mailey50     
JWH Makepeacec Oldfield b Mailey73     
EH Hendrenb Mailey102 10191 
FE Woolleyc Gregory b Punch20     
PGH Fenderlbw b Mailey60     
*JWHT Douglasc Folkard b Andrews46     
ER Wilsonb Hendry9     
A Waddingtonnot out12     
+H Strudwickc Gregory b Mailey4     
CH Parkinc Hendry b Mailey1     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)9
Total(all out, 334 minutes, 126 overs)427
Fall of wickets:
1-89, 2-104, 3-253, 4-292, 5-298, 6-382, 7-404, 8-410, 9-423, 10-427 (126 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hendry27   5631--
Folkard12   0530--
Mailey45   31727--
Macartney17   3430-1
Andrews11   0501--
Collins5   190--
Punch9   2281--

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HL Collinsb Douglas2     
W Bardsleyc Woolley b Douglas4     
CG Macartneyb Douglas130 2257- 
JM Gregoryc Strudwick b Wilson52     
TJE Andrewsc Strudwick b Douglas54     
JM Taylornot out107 1717- 
ATE Punchc sub (A Dolphin) b Fender59     
BJ Folkardc Strudwick b Parkin9     
HSTL Hendryc Strudwick b Douglas5     
+WAS Oldfieldb Douglas0     
AA Maileyb Douglas0     
Extras(13 b, 11 lb, 1 w)25
Total(all out, 369 minutes, 129.2 overs)447
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-11, 3-105, 4-243, 5-268, 6-381, 7-420, 8-445, 9-447, 10-447 (129.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waddington8   1310--
Woolley21   4470--
Parkin32   51051--
Wilson24   8471--
Fender15   1731--
Rhodes3   0210--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FE Woolleyb Hendry138 138131 
W Rhodesc Mailey b Hendry17     
JWH Makepeacec Punch b Gregory0     
EH Hendrenc Oldfield b Gregory66     
*JWHT Douglasnot out82     
PGH Fenderc Hendry b Mailey27     
A Waddingtonc Andrews b Mailey3     
ER Wilsonc Bardsley b Andrews30     
+H Strudwickc Taylor b Andrews4     
CH Parkinst Oldfield b Andrews2     
JB Hobbsabsent hurt
Extras(4 b, 8 lb)12
Total(all out, 320 minutes, 113.1 overs)381
Fall of wickets:
1-28, 2-29, 3-211, 4-238, 5-272, 6-296, 7-365, 8-369, 9-381 (113.1 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gregory22   4692--
Hendry15   3502--
Mailey32   21222--
Folkard12   3290--
Macartney9   1250--
Collins6   1120--
Punch8   2180--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Folkardb Waddington0     
CG Macartneyb Waddington6     
HSTL Hendrynot out66     
ATE Punchnot out63     
*HL Collinsdid not bat      
W Bardsleydid not bat      
JM Gregorydid not bat      
TJE Andrewsdid not bat      
JM Taylordid not bat      
+WAS Oldfielddid not bat      
AA Maileydid not bat      
Extras(10 b, 4 lb, 2 nb)16
Total(2 wickets, 90 minutes, 34 overs)151
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-11
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Waddington10   1302-1
Parkin6   1310--
Fender10   0500-1
Rhodes7   1230--
Wilson1   010--

--> EH Hendren (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 8
--> ATE Punch (1) passed his previous highest score of 55 in first-class matches
--> ATE Punch (2) passed his previous highest score of 59 in first-class matches
--> AA Mailey reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings
--> JWHT Douglas completed a hat-trick in the New South Wales first innings (Hendry, Oldfield, Mailey)

12th Men: WGF Brown (NSW) and A Dolphin (MCC)
Crowds: 8933, 17370, 8815, 6180. Total: 41,298. Receipts: 2730 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive