Ceylon v Australians
Australia in Ceylon 1895/96
VenueGalle Face, Colombo on 1st April 1896 (1-day match)
Balls per over5
PlayersCeylon: 18; Australians: 12
TossCeylon won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
Umpires[unknown], AE Tunnicliffe

Ceylon first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AA Pillansb Jones6      
O'Brienc AE Trott b GHS Trott10      
EB Alexanderb Jones5      
RHFS de Saramst Kelly b GHS Trott6      
*Youngb Jones2      
H Thornhillb GHS Trott0      
Bowenlbw b Jones2      
L Thomaszc AE Trott b Donnan11      
Keenanb Jones2      
EH Josephb AE Trott21      
TY Wrightc Hetherington b Donnan0      
HL Crawfordb AE Trott0      
ER Waldockb AE Trott0      
Curriec Hill b Donnan19      
HM Waldockrun out1      
+G Perkinsc Gregory b Donnan6      
J Ludovicib AE Trott2      
W Philpsnot out0      
Total(all out, 37.2 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-15, 3-24, 4-27, 5-28, 6-33, 7-35, 8-41, 9-57, 10-57, 11-57, 12-57, 13-76, 14-79, 15-91, 16-93, 17-97 (37.2 ov)
Australians bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
GHS Trott13.20313--
AE Trott7.10244--

Australians first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
J Darlingc Bowen b Pillans3      
H Donnanb de Saram41      
FA Iredalec Thornhill b Ludovici23      
H Grahamc Philps b Wright15      
SE Gregoryrun out15      
C Hillc Crawford b ER Waldock14      
AE Trottst Perkins b Bowen26      
G Graynot out4      
HF Hetheringtonb Bowen19      
E Jonesnot out3      
+JJ Kellydid not bat      
*GHS Trottdid not bat      
Total(8 wickets, 47 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-63, 3-74, 4-101, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?
Ceylon bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Pillans7   2191--
Bowen5   1262--
HM Waldock4   0200--
Ludovici6   1181--
de Saram3   0191--
Alexander4   0180--
Wright8   3101--
ER Waldock4   091--
Thomasz3   190--
Philps3   0150--

The other umpire was "A passemger on the SS Cuzco".
The odd balls in the Australian bowling is accountable to the umpire who couldn't count the five ball overs





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive