Lancing College v Brighton College
Other matches in England 1879
VenueLancing College Ground, Lancing on 17th June 1879 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultBrighton College won by 4 wickets

Lancing College inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GH Pennellb Brealey2     
R Paynec North b Dewing3     
CHS Russellc Moor b Brealey0     
HH Whincupc Barnes b Dewing0     
AH Barkerb Brealey0     
G Websterc and b Brealey1     
CPE Butterworthlbw b Dewing2     
AEJ Princenot out11     
LE Sandersonretired not out8     
JSP Sambornec Marsh b Marshall7     
+FE Payneb Marshall7     
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out)46
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-46
Brighton College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Brighton College inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WH Moorc R Payne b Pennell6     
SWP Barnesb Pennell6     
RH Dewingc Webster b Barker3     
SC Hoodb Barker11     
K Marshallb Pennell0     
HC Marshb Prince7     
H Brealeyrun out29     
FG Lingardc FE Payne b Sanderson11     
WF Wickhamb Webster3     
DH Northnot out0     
JGW Jonesst FE Payne b Sanderson3     
Extras(1 b, 2 w)3
Total(all out)82
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-82
Lancing College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> Brighton College batted on after winning

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.
Source states that the match was "unfinished".
Source does not make clear how many wickets had fallen when Brighton College passed their target.
In another account in the innings of Brighton College, Jones scores 1 and the total is put 80. Why L.E. Sanderson retired is not stated. No return match was played this year, it "falling through".





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive