Tonbridge School v Lancing College
Other matches in England 1879
VenueTonbridge School Ground, Tonbridge on 24th June 1879 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over5
TossToss not known
ResultTonbridge School won by 9 wickets

Lancing College inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Payneb C Wilson14     
G Websterc Crawfurd b Gibson18     
CHS Russellc Hunter b Gibson3     
HH Whincupnot out12     
AEJ Princec Hunter b C Wilson0     
CPE Butterworthb C Wilson5     
AH Barkerb Gibson1     
LE Sandersonb C Wilson1     
JSP Sambornec and b C Wilson0     
AN Clayec Hamilton b Gibson0     
FE Payneb Gibson2     
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 1 w)4
Total(all out, 65.1 overs)60
Fall of wickets:
1-35, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-60 (65.1 ov)
Tonbridge School bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
C Wilson26   ?295--
Bishop9   ?70--
Hamilton4   ?501-

Tonbridge School inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FJ Parkerrun out0     
PEP Crawfurdc Sanderson b Barker52     
WE Corbettrun out28     
C Wilsonb Butterworth16     
H Bakerb Barker0     
JS Bishopb Barker2     
CBR Hunterc and b Sanderson10     
GA Hawkinsb Prince6     
LAH Hamiltonc and b Sanderson11     
GR Gibsonc FE Payne b Barker5     
AS Wilsonnot out1     
Extras(3 b, 3 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)9
Total(all out, 71 overs)140
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-140 (71 ov)
Lancing College bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Butterworth20   ?181-1
Prince13   ?271--
Sanderson9   ?222--
Claye5   ?80--
Webster2   ?60--

--> Tonbridge School batted on after winning

Source does not make clear how many wickets had fallen when Tonbridge School passed their target
Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive