Jockeys v Sporting Press
Other matches in England 1879
VenueCounty Ground, Hove on 4th August 1879 (1-day match)
Balls per over4
TossToss not known
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresSouthern, L Stocks

Jockeys first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Bulbecklbw b Robson0     
Deanb Buchanan2     
W Burbidgeb Buchanan21     
T Groomec and b Robson10     
T Lambb Robson2     
JR I'Ansonc HB Smith b Robson1     
T Cannonb Robson1     
T Jenningsb Buchanan1     
J Goaterb Buchanan2     
J Cannonnot out1     
J Adamsb Robson0     
Extras(7 b, 1 lb)8
Total(all out)47
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-47
Sporting Press bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Sporting Press first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WS Buchananb Burbidge0     
C Robsonb Burbidge0     
J Goddingc Lamb b I'Anson1     
J Lelewb I'Anson2     
RG Cooperb Burbidge10     
VK Shawb Burbidge1     
JH Smithb Burbidge30     
WC Manningc and b I'Anson1     
G Furleyb Burbidge0     
HB Smithb I'Anson1     
CW Blakenot out0     
Extras(2 b, 1 lb)3
Total(all out)49
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-49
Jockeys bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

Jockeys second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Deanb Lelew26     
T Groomec Manning b Lelew13     
T Lambc Shaw b Lelew13     
JR I'Ansonc JH Smith b Robson50     
T Cannonnot out7     
T Jenningsnot out5     
J Goaterb Robson0     
Bulbeckdid not bat      
W Burbidgedid not bat      
J Cannondid not bat      
J Adamsdid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 2 w)5
Total(5 wickets)119
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?
Sporting Press bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls

--> Jockeys first innings batting adds 2 runs over

Our thanks to Arthur Haygarth for collecting the information and to Roger Heavens for providing this scorecard which was first published in Arthur Haygarth's Cricket Scores and Biographies Volume 16. Copies of the book can be obtained from . Additions or corrections to this scorecard would be gratefully received.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2018 CricketArchive