Gloucestershire v Glamorgan
County Championship 1953
VenueWagon Works Ground, Gloucester on 11th, 13th, 14th July 1953 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGloucestershire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsGloucestershire 0; Glamorgan 0
UmpiresLH Gray, A Skelding
Close of play day 1Gloucestershire (1) 217 all out
Close of play day 2Glamorgan (1) 94/2 (DE Davies 47*, Jones 27*)

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
GM Emmettb Wooller11      
DM Youngc McConnon b Watkins35      
*JF Crappc Wooller b McConnon52      
RB Nichollslbw b Watkins4      
+AE Wilsonc Parkhouse b Watkins62      
AS Brownb McConnon0      
GEE Lambertrun out16      
JB Mortimorec Watkins b Lewis7      
CJ Scottnot out7      
C Cooklbw b Wooller0      
BD Wellsb Wooller4      
Extras(12 b, 4 lb, 3 nb)19
Total(all out, 77.3 overs)217
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-64, 3-75, 4-135, 5-141, 6-182, 7-201, 8-205, 9-207, 10-217 (77.3 ov)
Glamorgan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shepherd19   1620--
Lewis6   1171--
Watkins19   6423--
McConnon16   6422--

Glamorgan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
DE Daviesnot out47      
WGA Parkhousec Mortimore b Scott4      
PB Cliftlbw b Mortimore10      
WE Jonesnot out27      
AJ Watkinsdid not bat      
*W Woollerdid not bat      
JE Pleassdid not bat      
JE McConnondid not bat      
+HG Daviesdid not bat      
KH Lewisdid not bat      
DJ Shepherddid not bat      
Extras(5 b, 1 lb)6
Total(2 wickets, 54 overs)94
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-31
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lambert7   1180--
Scott13   3221--
Wells12   5180--
Mortimore10   8131--
Cook12   7170--

--> There was no play on the final day.
--> DE Davies (1) passed 26000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 33
--> W Wooller reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Gloucestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive