Lancashire v Kent
Gillette Cup 1972 (Semi-Final)
VenueOld Trafford, Manchester on 17th, 18th August 1972 (60-over match)
Balls per over6
TossLancashire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultLancashire won by 7 runs
UmpiresHD Bird, GH Pope
Close of play day 1Kent 110/3 (Denness 43*; 34.4 overs)
Man of the MatchH Pilling

Lancashire inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
D Lloydc and b Underwood33      
B Woodb Woolmer29      
H Pillingc Knott b Julien70      
CH Lloydc Johnson b Underwood32      
FC Hayesc Asif Iqbal b Underwood13      
DP Hughesnot out35      
J Simmonsc Denness b Julien0      
+FM Engineernot out0      
*JD Bonddid not bat      
K Shuttleworthdid not bat      
PG Leedid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 10 lb, 1 w)12
Total(6 wickets, innings closed, 60 overs)224
Fall of wickets:
1-59, 2-67, 3-113, 4-160, 5-223, 6-223
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Graham12   4400--   -3.33
Julien12   2352--   36.002.92
Shepherd12   0380--   -3.17
Woolmer12   1511--   72.004.25
Underwood12   2483--   24.004.00

Kent inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sDotsS-Rate
BW Luckhurstlbw b Lee10      
GW Johnsonc Engineer b Wood12      
*MH Dennesslbw b Simmons65      
MC Cowdreylbw b Lee44      
Asif Iqbalc Engineer b Simmons23      
+APE Knottlbw b Simmons3      
BD Julienlbw b Shuttleworth35      
RA Woolmerc Bond b Hughes3      
JN Shepherdc Simmons b Hughes9      
DL Underwoodst Engineer b Hughes5      
JN Grahamnot out1      
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)7
Total(all out, 60 overs)217
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-34, 3-110, 4-155, 5-155, 6-163, 7-188, 8-192, 9-213, 10-217 (60 ov)
Lancashire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsDots4s6sS-RateEcon
Lee12   4162--   36.001.33
Shuttleworth12   3471--   72.003.92
Wood12   4421--   72.003.50
Simmons12   1483--   24.004.00
CH Lloyd3   0180--   -6.00
Hughes9   0393--   18.004.33

--> The match was scheduled for one day but extended to two.
--> BD Julien passed his previous highest score of 33 in ListA matches





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive