Pakistan v India
India in Pakistan 1984/85 (1st Test)
VenueGaddafi Stadium, Lahore on 17th, 18th, 19th, 21st, 22nd October 1984 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossPakistan won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresKhizer Hayat, Shakoor Rana
Close of play day 1Pakistan (1) 211/5 (Zaheer Abbas 51*, Wasim Raja 3*)
Close of play day 2Pakistan (1) 428/9 (Zaheer Abbas 168*, Azeem Hafeez 17*)
Close of play day 3India (1) 156 all out
Close of play day 4India (2) 180/4 (Amarnath 28*, Shastri 6*)
Man of the MatchAzeem Hafeez

Pakistan first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
Mohsin Khanb Sharma4     
Mudassar Nazarc Gavaskar b Sharma15     
Qasim Umarc Amarnath b Shastri46     
Javed Miandadc Amarnath b Sharma34     
*Zaheer Abbasnot out168341 61 
Saleem Malikc and b Shastri45     
Wasim Rajac Amarnath b Kapil Dev3     
+Ashraf Alic Gavaskar b Gaekwad65     
Tauseef Ahmedc Gavaskar b Maninder Singh10     
Jalaluddinlbw b Shastri2     
Azeem Hafeeznot out17     
Extras(7 lb, 11 nb, 1 w)19
Total(9 wickets, declared, 158 overs)428
Fall of wickets:
1-6 (Mohsin Khan), 2-54 (Mudassar Nazar), 3-100 (Qasim Umar), 4-110 (Javed Miandad), 5-195 (Saleem Malik), 6-212 (Wasim Raja), 7-354 (Ashraf Ali), 8-394 (Tauseef Ahmed), 9-397 (Jalaluddin)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kapil Dev30   41041--
Sharma29   2943--
Binny8   1200--
Maninder Singh40   10901--
Shastri46   13903--
Amarnath4   0190--
Gaekwad1   041--

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*SM Gavaskarc Saleem Malik b Azeem Hafeez48     
AD Gaekwadb Jalaluddin4     
DB Vengsarkarc Ashraf Ali b Azeem Hafeez41     
M Amarnathb Wasim Raja36     
SM Patilc Saleem Malik b Azeem Hafeez0  -- 
RJ Shastrilbw b Azeem Hafeez0  -- 
Kapil Devlbw b Azeem Hafeez3  -- 
RMH Binnylbw b Mudassar Nazar0  -- 
+SMH Kirmanic sub (Rameez Raja) b Mudassar Nazar2  -- 
C Sharmab Azeem Hafeez4     
Maninder Singhnot out4     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)14
Total(all out, 72.5 overs)156
Fall of wickets:
1-7 (Gaekwad), 2-94 (Vengsarkar), 3-112 (Gavaskar), 4-114 (Patil), 5-114 (Shastri), 6-119 (Kapil Dev), 7-120 (Binny), 8-130 (Kirmani), 9-135 (Sharma), 10-156 (Amarnath, 72.5 ov)
Pakistan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Azeem Hafeez23   7466--
Mudassar Nazar16.32322--
Tauseef Ahmed13   3190--
Wasim Raja3.50101--

India second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
*SM Gavaskarlbw b Jalaluddin37     
AD Gaekwadc Saleem Malik b Tauseef Ahmed60     
DB Vengsarkarc Mudassar Nazar b Azeem Hafeez28     
M Amarnathnot out101 4108- 
SM Patilb Jalaluddin7     
RJ Shastrilbw b Saleem Malik71     
RMH Binnylbw b Wasim Raja13     
Kapil Devnot out33     
+SMH Kirmanidid not bat      
C Sharmadid not bat      
Maninder Singhdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 7 lb, 4 nb, 4 w)21
Total(6 wickets, 156 overs)371
Fall of wickets:
1-85 (Gavaskar), 2-114 (Vengsarkar), 3-147 (Gaekwad), 4-164 (Patil), 5-290 (Shastri), 6-315 (Binny)
Pakistan bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Jalaluddin24   3612--
Azeem Hafeez43   121141--
Mudassar Nazar14   3340--
Tauseef Ahmed50   19931--
Wasim Raja19   4461--
Saleem Malik5   261--
Javed Miandad1   040--

--> Qasim Umar (1) passed 500 runs in Test matches when he reached 16
--> Javed Miandad (1) passed 20500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 30
--> Zaheer Abbas (1) passed 34000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 156
--> Ashraf Ali (1) passed his previous highest score of 58 in Test matches
--> DB Vengsarkar (1) passed 4000 runs in Test matches when he reached 30
--> C Sharma made his debut in Test matches
--> M Amarnath (2) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 39
--> Kapil Dev (2) passed 2500 runs in Test matches when he reached 14
--> Azeem Hafeez achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed C Sharma in the India first innings (previous best was 5-100)
--> Mudassar Nazar reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed RMH Binny, his 1st wicket in the India first innings
--> Wasim Raja reached 50 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed RMH Binny, his 1st wicket in the India second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive