Worcestershire v Surrey
County Championship 1901
VenueCounty Ground, New Road, Worcester on 18th, 19th, 20th July 1901 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSurrey won by 47 runs
PointsWorcestershire -1; Surrey 1
UmpiresT Mycroft, W Richards
Close of play day 1Worcestershire (1) 179/4 (Foster 116*, Simpson-Hayward 31*)
Close of play day 2Worcestershire (2) 43/4 (Wheldon 6*)

Surrey first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*DLA Jephsonc Straw b Burrows67     
R Abelc Bird b Wilson38     
EG Hayesc Simpson-Hayward b Wilson50     
FC Hollandc Straw b Burrows30     
WH Lockwoodb Wilson1     
W Brockwellc Simpson-Hayward b Burrows17     
VFS Crawfordnot out3     
L Walkerb Wilson1     
EM Dowsonb Wilson0     
+F Stedmanb Wilson0     
T Richardsonc Arnold b Burrows1     
Extras(2 b, 9 lb)11
Total(all out, 61 overs)219
Fall of wickets:
1-67, 2-154, 3-180, 4-187, 5-209, 6-214, 7-218, 8-218, 9-218, 10-219 (61 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson24   3886--
Pearson10   3300--
Burrows15   2514--
Bannister7   1190--
Simpson-Hayward5   0200--

Worcestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FL Bowleyc and b Lockwood10     
FA Pearsonc Stedman b Richardson0     
EG Arnoldc Stedman b Richardson0     
*RE Fosterc Stedman b Richardson135     
GF Wheldonb Dowson19     
GHT Simpson-Haywardb Jephson52     
A Birdb Richardson5     
RD Burrowsc Holland b Richardson5     
+T Strawnot out4     
AF Bannisterc Brockwell b Richardson2     
GA Wilsonb Dowson23     
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)8
Total(all out, 70 overs)263
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-17, 4-66, 5-209, 6-227, 7-233, 8-233, 9-237, 10-263 (70 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lockwood7   2411-2
Richardson27   110161-
Brockwell12   4370--
Dowson8   1322--
Jephson14   2361--
Holland2   080--

Surrey second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
R Abelc Bird b Pearson96     
FC Hollandc and b Burrows10     
EG Hayesb Pearson17     
WH Lockwood hit wkt b Bird0     
L Walkerb Pearson7     
W Brockwellc Straw b Burrows22     
VFS Crawfordb Pearson39     
*DLA Jephsonb Pearson0     
EM Dowsonc Wilson b Burrows14     
+F Stedmannot out4     
T Richardsonc Pearson b Burrows0     
Extras(2 b, 3 lb)5
Total(all out, 57.5 overs)214
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-40, 3-?, 4-127, 5-145, 6-168, 7-178, 8-?, 9-?, 10-214 (57.5 ov)
Worcestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wilson9   0570--
Pearson23   3565--
Bird9   1261--
Bannister3   1100--

Worcestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
FL Bowleyc Holland b Dowson1     
FA Pearsonc Crawford b Dowson17     
EG Arnoldc Hayes b Richardson16     
*RE Fosterc and b Brockwell33     
GF Wheldonb Dowson10     
GHT Simpson-Haywardc Stedman b Richardson1     
A Birdc Holland b Dowson9     
RD Burrowsc Lockwood b Brockwell2     
+T Strawrun out0     
AF Bannisternot out13     
GA Wilsonb Dowson10     
Extras(2 b, 7 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 51.1 overs)123
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-30, 3-34, 4-43, 5-47, 6-85, 7-93, 8-96, 9-108, 10-123 (51.1 ov)
Surrey bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Richardson17   53721-
Jephson5   1110-1
Brockwell9   4102--

--> R Abel (1) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 14
--> RE Foster (1) passed his previous highest score of 134 in County Championship matches
--> GHT Simpson-Hayward (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 1
--> GA Wilson reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 2nd wicket in the Surrey first innings
--> GA Wilson completed a hat-trick in the Surrey first innings (Walker, Dowson, Stedman)
--> EM Dowson reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Worcestershire second innings
--> EM Dowson achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Worcestershire second innings (previous best was 5-73)
--> VFS Crawford retired hurt in the Surrey second innings (team had lost 5 wickets) - he returned when the score was 168/6 (being severely hurt by a hard drive from Brockwell from which he could not get out of the way)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive