India v England
England in India and Sri Lanka 1992/93 (3rd Test)
VenueWankhede Stadium, Bombay on 19th, 20th, 21st, 22nd, 23rd February 1993 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEngland won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndia won by an innings and 15 runs
UmpiresPD Reporter, S Venkataraghavan
RefereeCW Smith
Close of play day 1England (1) 239/7 (Hick 99*, Emburey 5*)
Close of play day 2India (1) 144/1 (Sidhu 69*, Kambli 20*)
Close of play day 3India (1) 397/3 (Kambli 164*, Azharuddin 14*)
Close of play day 4England (2) 108/3 (Smith 39*, Gatting 31*)
Man of the MatchGA Hick

England first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GA Goochc More b Kapil Dev41927-- 
AJ Stewartrun out (Tendulkar->More->Amre)1343571- 
MA Athertonc Prabhakar b Kumble371131473- 
RA Smithc More b Raju269-- 
MW Gattingc Kapil Dev b Raju2345393- 
GA Hickc Kapil Dev b Prabhakar178319390201 
+RJ Blakeylbw b Kumble1117-- 
CC Lewislbw b Kumble491121165- 
JE Embureyc More b Kapil Dev1288902- 
PAJ DeFreitaslbw b Kapil Dev1119172- 
PCR Tufnellnot out24081-- 
Extras(4 b, 5 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)15
Total(all out, 135 overs)347
Fall of wickets:
1-11 (Gooch), 2-25 (Stewart), 3-30 (Smith), 4-58 (Gatting), 5-116 (Atherton), 6-118 (Blakey), 7-211 (Lewis), 8-262 (Emburey), 9-279 (DeFreitas), 10-347 (Hick)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kapil Dev15   3353--
Prabhakar13   2521--
Raju44   81022--
Kumble40   4953--
Chauhan23   7540--

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NS Sidhuc Smith b Tufnell79201265121 
M Prabhakarc Blakey b Hick4413416541 
VG Kamblic Gatting b Lewis22441160823- 
SR Tendulkarlbw b Tufnell7821328510- 
*M Azharuddinlbw b Lewis2658644- 
PK Amrec DeFreitas b Hick5774999- 
Kapil Devc DeFreitas b Emburey2220433- 
+KS Morec Lewis b Emburey032-- 
A Kumblec Atherton b Tufnell16182611 
RK Chauhanc Atherton b Tufnell151323-2 
SLV Rajunot out001-- 
Extras(5 b, 14 lb, 6 nb, 5 w)30
Total(all out, 189.3 overs)591
Fall of wickets:
1-109 (Prabhakar), 2-174 (Sidhu), 3-368 (Tendulkar), 4-418 (Azharuddin), 5-519 (Amre), 6-560 (Kapil Dev), 7-560 (More), 8-563 (Kambli), 9-591 (Kumble), 10-591 (Chauhan)
England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
DeFreitas20   4750--
Lewis42   91142--
Emburey59   141442--
Hick29   3972--

England second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*GA Goochb Prabhakar82033-- 
AJ Stewartlbw b Prabhakar1018212- 
MA Athertonc More b Prabhakar1124292- 
RA Smithb Kumble6216621012- 
MW Gattingst More b Chauhan611471689- 
GA Hickc Amre b Kumble4762678- 
+RJ Blakeyb Kumble011-- 
CC Lewisc More b Raju31521-- 
JE Embureyc Tendulkar b Kumble12023-- 
PAJ DeFreitasst More b Raju12141911 
PCR Tufnellnot out21112-- 
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)12
Total(all out, 82.5 overs)229
Fall of wickets:
1-17 (Stewart), 2-26 (Gooch), 3-34 (Atherton), 4-155 (Gatting), 5-181 (Smith), 6-181 (Blakey), 7-206 (Lewis), 8-214 (Hick), 9-215 (Emburey), 10-229 (DeFreitas)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prabhakar11   4283--
Kapil Dev7   1210--
Kumble26   9704--
Chauhan12   5321--

--> GA Hick (1) passed his previous highest score of 64 in Test matches
--> GA Hick (1) made his first century in Test matches
--> GA Hick (1) 100 in 192 balls, 251 minutes with 10 fours
--> GA Hick (1) passed 500 runs in Test matches when he reached 103
--> CC Lewis (1) passed 3500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> PCR Tufnell did not score for 63 minutes when 0 in the England first innings
--> VG Kambli (1) passed his previous highest score of 59 in Test matches
--> VG Kambli (1) made his first century in Test matches
--> VG Kambli (1) 100 in 168 balls, 228 minutes with 13 fours
--> VG Kambli (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 214
--> SR Tendulkar (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 77
--> M Azharuddin (1) passed 3500 runs in Test matches when he reached 15
--> RJ Blakey made his last appearance in Test matches
--> PAJ DeFreitas made his debut in India in Test matches
--> MA Atherton made his debut in India in Test matches
--> GA Hick reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed M Prabhakar, his 1st wicket in the India first innings

12th men: WV Raman (Ind), JP Taylor (Eng)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive