India v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in India 1993/94 (1st Test)
VenueKD Singh Babu Stadium, Lucknow on 18th, 19th, 20th, 22nd January 1994 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossIndia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultIndia won by an innings and 119 runs
UmpiresRC Sharma, S Venkataraghavan
RefereeED Weekes
Close of play day 1India (1) 269/3 (Tendulkar 88*, Azharuddin 20*)
Close of play day 2India (1) 511 all out
Close of play day 3Sri Lanka (1) 197/7 (Liyanage 6*, Anurasiri 2*)
Man of the MatchA Kumble

India first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
M Prabhakarlbw b Liyanage211081481- 
NS Sidhuc Kalpage b Muralitharan12422328098 
VG Kamblirun out517201- 
SR Tendulkarc Samaraweera b Anurasiri14222426022- 
*M Azharuddinc Tillakaratne b Anurasiri471231933- 
SV Manjrekarc and b Muralitharan611171444- 
Kapil Devc Wickramasinghe b Muralitharan429012621 
+NR Mongiac Samaraweera b Muralitharan4455686- 
A Kumbleb Wickramasinghe49181- 
RK Chauhanc Tillakaratne b Muralitharan3812-- 
SLV Rajunot out56111- 
Extras(3 lb, 8 nb, 2 w)13
Total(all out, 161.5 overs)511
Fall of wickets:
1-63 (Prabhakar), 2-84 (Kambli), 3-205 (Sidhu), 4-347 (Tendulkar), 5-370 (Azharuddin), 6-446 (Manjrekar), 7-459 (Kapil Dev), 8-482 (Kumble), 9-501 (Chauhan), 10-511 (Mongia)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wickramasinghe20   384115
Liyanage17   655113
Ranatunga3   210--
Anurasiri58   131472--
Kalpage22   2590--

Sri Lanka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamac Mongia b Kumble731671876- 
DP Samaraweeralbw b Chauhan421401903- 
HP Tillakaratnec Mongia b Kumble727261- 
PA de Silvac Azharuddin b Kumble134359-- 
*A Ranatungac Chauhan b Raju930291- 
RS Kalpagec Azharuddin b Kumble21012-- 
+PB Dassanayakest Mongia b Raju3671725- 
DK Liyanagelbw b Prabhakar12101128-- 
SD Anurasirib Prabhakar23636-- 
GP Wickramasinghelbw b Kapil Dev69111- 
M Muralitharannot out96122- 
Extras(7 lb)7
Total(all out, 106.4 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-120 (Mahanama), 2-120 (Samaraweera), 3-132 (Tillakaratne), 4-149 (Ranatunga), 5-149 (de Silva), 6-158 (Kalpage), 7-191 (Dassanayake), 8-197 (Anurasiri), 9-208 (Wickramasinghe), 10-218 (Liyanage)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Kapil Dev10   3271--
Raju20   10252--
Kumble37   10694--
Chauhan23   7541--

Sri Lanka second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamac Azharuddin b Kumble451111386- 
DP Samaraweeralbw b Kumble1248521- 
HP Tillakaratnec Prabhakar b Kumble47871026- 
PA de Silvab Kumble1153632- 
*A Ranatungac Mongia b Kumble011-- 
RS Kalpagec Kumble b Raju22728-- 
+PB Dassanayakeb Prabhakar1546552- 
DK Liyanagec Mongia b Chauhan2362714- 
SD Anurasirilbw b Kumble418231- 
GP Wickramasinghenot out052-- 
M Muralitharanb Kumble021-- 
Extras(5 b, 6 lb, 4 w)15
Total(all out, 73.3 overs)174
Fall of wickets:
1-29 (Samaraweera), 2-100 (Mahanama), 3-109 (Tillakaratne), 4-109 (Ranatunga), 5-122 (Kalpage), 6-122 (de Silva), 7-162 (Dassanayake), 8-174 (Liyanage), 9-174 (Anurasiri), 10-174 (Muralitharan)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Prabhakar16   3381--
Kapil Dev3   080--
Raju14   5281--
Chauhan13   2301--

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> NS Sidhu (1) passed his previous highest score of 116 in Test matches
--> NS Sidhu (1) passed 1500 runs in Test matches when he reached 85
--> SV Manjrekar (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 16
--> NR Mongia made his debut in Test matches
--> DP Samaraweera (1) passed his previous highest score of 16 in Test matches
--> PB Dassanayake (1) passed his previous highest score of 18 in Test matches
--> HP Tillakaratne (2) passed 1000 runs in Test matches when he reached 26
--> DK Liyanage (2) passed his previous highest score of 16 in Test matches
--> A Kumble achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the Sri Lanka second innings (previous best was 7-64)
--> A Kumble achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed M Muralitharan in the Sri Lanka second innings (previous best was 6-53)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles



View all Current Events CLICK HERE

We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive