Victoria v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia 1920/21
VenueMelbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th November 1920 (timeless match)
Balls per over6
TossVictoria won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by an innings and 59 runs
UmpiresF Benson, RM Crockett
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 24/0 (Hobbs 11*, Russell 13*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 343/2 (Hearne 82*, Hendren 77*)
Close of play day 3No play

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ER Mayneb Parkin43      
RL Parkc Dolphin b Howell0      
CB Willislbw b Parkin20      
VS Ransfordc Woolley b Parkin0      
J Ryderc Dolphin b Fender8      
AW Lampardc Parkin b Woolley111 17412-  
AG Moyesc Hendren b Parkin19      
AE Liddicut hit wkt b Woolley56      
EA McDonaldc Dolphin b Woolley8      
+JL Ellisc Rhodes b Howell2      
LT Mullettnot out1      
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 1 w)6
Total(all out, 228 minutes, 71.1 overs)274
Fall of wickets:
1-5, 2-68, 3-68, 4-77, 5-77, 6-105, 7-247, 8-263, 9-270, 10-274 (71.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Douglas18   06201-
Parkin13   1584--
Fender9   0491--
Woolley12   4293--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JB Hobbsc Moyes b Ryder131 2138-  
CAG Russellc Mullett b McDonald49      
JW Hearnec Ryder b McDonald87      
EH Hendrennot out106 1558-  
FE Woolleynot out36      
*JWHT Douglasdid not bat      
W Rhodesdid not bat      
PGH Fenderdid not bat      
CH Parkindid not bat      
+A Dolphindid not bat      
H Howelldid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)9
Total(3 wickets, declared, 365 minutes, 120 overs)418
Fall of wickets:
1-114, 2-232, 3-355
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McDonald29   3852-1
Mullett20   0730--
Lampard17   15901-
Ryder23   0761--
Liddicut14   14301-
Park4   1180--
Moyes6   0210--
Willis4   0220--
Ransford3   0120--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ER Maynec Hendren b Rhodes11      
RL Parklbw b Rhodes12      
CB Willisc Fender b Woolley9      
AW Lampardc Hendren b Woolley2      
J Ryderb Rhodes0      
VS Ransfordc Fender b Rhodes21      
AG Moyesst Dolphin b Rhodes0      
AE Liddicutnot out23      
EA McDonaldc Douglas b Rhodes3      
+JL Ellisst Dolphin b Woolley1      
LT Mullettb Woolley0      
Extras(3 b)3
Total(all out, 115 minutes, 38.3 overs)85
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-23, 3-33, 4-34, 5-34, 6-34, 7-69, 8-84, 9-85, 10-85 (38.3 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Rhodes19   4396--
Parkin4   0160--

--> AE Liddicut (1) passed his previous highest score of 53 in first-class matches
--> JB Hobbs (1) passed 31000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> VS Ransford (2) passed 6500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 3
--> AG Moyes made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> PGH Fender made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> A Dolphin made his debut in Australia in first-class matches
--> CH Parkin reached 150 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Victoria first innings

12th Men: FCYeomans (Vic) No 12th named for MCC
Crowds: 9925, 20839, no play, 4261. Total: 35,025. Receipts: 2927 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2015 CricketArchive