Kent v Yorkshire
LV County Championship 2008 (Division 1)
VenueSt Lawrence Ground, Canterbury on 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th July 2008 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossYorkshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultKent won by 3 wickets
PointsKent 22 (Batting 5, Bowling 3); Yorkshire 8 (Batting 5, Bowling 3)
UmpiresTE Jesty, RA Kettleborough, TJ Urben
ScorersJC Foley (Kent), JT Potter (Yorkshire)
Close of play day 1Yorkshire (1) 358/5 (Rudolph 120*, Hoggard 1*; 95.1 overs)
Close of play day 2Kent (1) 298/6 (Key 122*, Azhar Mahmood 21*; 80 overs)
Close of play day 3Yorkshire (2) 196 all out

Yorkshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Galec Stevens b Joseph1016221- 
A Lythlbw b Azhar Mahmood501021396- 
*A McGrathc van Jaarsveld b Saggers144226286162 
JA Rudolphc Jones b Azhar Mahmood129210247121 
GS Ballancelbw b Yasir Arafat11412-- 
+GL Brophyc Stevens b Yasir Arafat01115-- 
MJ Hoggardc Jones b Azhar Mahmood2449694- 
AU Rashidc Kemp b Azhar Mahmood01111-- 
TT Bresnanlbw b Azhar Mahmood1021251- 
Naved-ul-Hasanc Stevens b Azhar Mahmood4211- 
GJ Kruisnot out5581- 
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 18 nb, 2 w)33
Total(all out, 109.4 overs)410
Fall of wickets:
1-27 (Gale), 2-124 (Lyth), 3-341 (McGrath), 4-344 (Ballance), 5-348 (Brophy), 6-384 (Rudolph), 7-384 (Rashid), 8-395 (Hoggard), 9-399 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 10-410 (Bresnan, 109.4 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Yasir Arafat23   3952-4
Joseph12   166115
Azhar Mahmood24.46556--
Saggers14   05911-
Tredwell29   5890--
Stevens2   0150--
van Jaarsveld5   1180--

Kent first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlylbw b Hoggard4843469- 
*RWT Keyb Rashid15726738017- 
JC Tredwellc Gale b Rashid481241366- 
M van Jaarsveldb McGrath354-- 
DI Stevensc Rudolph b Rashid397-- 
JM Kempc Rudolph b Rashid1221211- 
+GO Joneslbw b Naved-ul-Hasan1035261- 
Azhar Mahmoodc Brophy b Bresnan2348442- 
Yasir Arafatnot out9012614813- 
RH Josephc Rudolph b Rashid276-- 
MJ Saggersc Brophy b Bresnan3351547- 
Extras(3 b, 14 lb, 21 nb)38
Total(all out, 121 overs)467
Fall of wickets:
1-68 (Denly), 2-203 (Tredwell), 3-208 (van Jaarsveld), 4-211 (Stevens), 5-235 (Kemp), 6-261 (Jones), 7-305 (Azhar Mahmood), 8-396 (Key), 9-398 (Joseph), 10-467 (Saggers, 121 ov)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hoggard14   0571--
Naved-ul-Hasan19   11021-5
Kruis21   3820-2
Bresnan25   2512-3
Rashid35   21405--
McGrath7   1181--

Yorkshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Galec Jones b Tredwell3659785- 
A Lythc van Jaarsveld b Yasir Arafat8572- 
*A McGrathc van Jaarsveld b Azhar Mahmood25315431 
JA Rudolphc Azhar Mahmood b van Jaarsveld477510351 
GS Ballancec van Jaarsveld b Saggers529281- 
+GL Brophylbw b Yasir Arafat5162736- 
AU Rashidc Kemp b Joseph417201- 
TT Bresnanc Kemp b Joseph21622-- 
Naved-ul-Hasanc Denly b Yasir Arafat87102- 
MJ Hoggardnot out037-- 
GJ Kruisc Kemp b Yasir Arafat343-- 
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 51.1 overs)196
Fall of wickets:
1-8 (Lyth), 2-68 (McGrath), 3-72 (Gale), 4-89 (Ballance), 5-173 (Rudolph), 6-176 (Brophy), 7-182 (Rashid), 8-193 (Naved-ul-Hasan), 9-193 (Bresnan), 10-196 (Kruis, 51.1 ov)
Kent bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Azhar Mahmood10   1361--
Yasir Arafat9.1238411
Tredwell13   4511--
van Jaarsveld4   0101--
Saggers8   2321--
Joseph7   1252--

Kent second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JL Denlyc Bresnan b Hoggard1918263- 
*RWT Keyc Brophy b Hoggard153650-- 
JC Tredwellc Rudolph b Rashid641531- 
M van Jaarsveldlbw b Naved-ul-Hasan4152697- 
DI Stevensst Brophy b Rashid4361- 
JM Kempc Brophy b Naved-ul-Hasan1035351- 
+GO Jonesnot out2026332- 
Azhar Mahmoodc Brophy b Naved-ul-Hasan256-- 
Yasir Arafatnot out1915213- 
MJ Saggersdid not bat      
RH Josephdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb)6
Total(7 wickets, 38.3 overs)142
Fall of wickets:
1-30 (Denly), 2-37 (Key), 3-51 (Tredwell), 4-63 (Stevens), 5-101 (van Jaarsveld), 6-102 (Kemp), 7-108 (Azhar Mahmood)
Yorkshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hoggard11   2272--
Bresnan10   1310--
Rashid9   0462--
Kruis4   080--

--> GS Ballance made his debut in first-class matches
--> GS Ballance made his debut in County Championship matches
--> A McGrath (1) 100 in 178 balls, 220 minutes with 12 fours
--> A McGrath (1) passed 10000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 11
--> JA Rudolph (1) 100 in 143 balls, 144 minutes with 12 fours and 1 six
--> JA Rudolph (1) passed 9000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> RWT Key (1) 100 in 174 balls, 219 minutes with 13 fours
--> RWT Key (1) passed 12500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 131
--> Yasir Arafat (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 27
--> Yasir Arafat (1) passed 5000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 86
--> MJ Saggers reached 350 wickets in County Championship matches when he dismissed A McGrath, his 1st wicket in the Yorkshire first innings
--> MJ Hoggard reached 600 wickets in first-class matches when he dismissed JL Denly, his 1st wicket in the Kent first innings

RA Kettleborough replaced for Days 3 and 4 by TJ Urben due to illness







This page created by the CricketArchive Oracles