Different format but same challenge
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Event:South Africa in Australia 2008/09

DateLine: 10th January 2009


Australia and South Africa have just finished their Test engagements and now they are about to face each other in the limited over formats. The world's two top-ranked limited-overs sides going head to head in a Twenty20 match in front of a sell-out crowd at the MCG should be a terrific spectacle in any case. Australia will be desperate for some strong performances to ease the pressure after losing their first home Test series in 16 years. South Africa have declared that they are treating this portion of their trip as a separate tour. Both teams are taking the opportunity to trial some fresh talent.


Australia have rested Brad Haddin due to his heavy workload in the past month and Luke Ronchi will take up the position behind the stumps. Ronchi was excellent with both bat and gloves in the West Indies this year but his domestic batting form has been down this summer and a lower-order position is likely. Michael Clarke and Mitchell Johnson have also been given time off. Australia's major decision is which bowlers to include.


South Africa have named their starting line-up and there is no Hashim Amla, Neil McKenzie or Morne Morkel. Lonwabo Tsotsobe and Vaughn van Jaarsveld are set to make their international debuts, while all eyes will also be on Herschelle Gibbs in his return to the national side.


Australia (possible) 1 Shaun Marsh, 2 David Warner, 3 Ricky Ponting (capt), 4 Michael Hussey, 5 David Hussey, 6 Cameron White, 7 James Hopes, 8 Luke Ronchi (wk), 9 Ryan Harris/Ben Hilfenhaus, 10 Nathan Bracken, 11 Shaun Tait.


South Africa 1 Herschelle Gibbs, 2 Jacques Kallis, 3 AB de Villiers, 4 JP Duminy, 5 Vaughn van Jaarsveld, 6 Mark Boucher (wk), 7 Albie Morkel, 8 Johan Botha (capt), 9 Dale Steyn, 10 Makhaya Ntini, 11 Lonwabo Tsostobe.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive