Barbados v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in West Indies and Bermuda 1953/54
VenueKensington Oval, Bridgetown on 29th, 30th January, 1st, 2nd, 3rd February 1954 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBarbados won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMarylebone Cricket Club won by 1 wicket
UmpiresHBD Jordan, JH Walcott
Close of play day 1Barbados (1) 203/5 (Atkinson 76*, Goddard 3*)
Close of play day 2Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 113/1 (Suttle 38*, May 15*)
Close of play day 3Barbados (2) 0/0
Close of play day 4Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 72/3 (Suttle 32*, Lock 0*)

Barbados first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CW Smithc and b Lock25     
NS Lucasc Spooner b Moss1     
CL Walcottc Graveney b Laker25     
ED Weekesb Lock17     
GS Sobersst Spooner b Compton46     
DS Atkinsonb Moss151     
JDC Goddardb Lock8     
EHC Griffithc Trueman b Moss15     
+CC Depeiazanot out44     
ELG Hoadb Trueman16     
CS Mullinslbw b Lock22     
Extras(10 b, 5 lb, 4 nb)19
Total(all out, 151.3 overs)389
Fall of wickets:
1-12, 2-33, 3-62, 4-73, 5-191, 6-249, 7-292, 8-313, 9-340, 10-389 (151.3 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trueman28   9631--
Moss22   8563--
Laker40   71011--
Compton9   1311--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Watsonc and b Hoad53     
KG Suttleb Atkinson96     
PBH Mayrun out57     
TW Graveneyb Goddard17     
DCS Comptonc Depeiaza b Walcott41     
+RT Spoonerc Atkinson b Walcott3     
JC Lakerb Walcott15     
L Huttonnot out59     
GAR Locklbw b Sobers4     
AE Mossc Smith b Atkinson16     
FS Truemanb Walcott1     
Extras(1 b, 8 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 133.3 overs)373
Fall of wickets:
1-88, 2-172, 3-209, 4-273, 5-273, 6-291, 7-294, 8-307, 9-354, 10-373 (133.3 ov)
Barbados bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mullins19   2540--
Griffith7   2140--
Atkinson35   15722--
Sobers34   61031--
Hoad10   0541--
Goddard10   5231--

Barbados second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CW Smithrun out22     
NS Lucaslbw b Lock28     
CL Walcottc Compton b Lock0     
ED Weekesb Lock47     
GS Sobersb Laker27     
DS Atkinsonb Lock1     
JDC Goddardlbw b Laker5     
+CC Depeiazanot out16     
EHC Griffithc Graveney b Lock11     
ELG Hoadc Moss b Laker11     
CS Mullinsc Suttle b Laker1     
Extras(9 b, 1 nb)10
Total(all out, 51.4 overs)179
Fall of wickets:
1-30, 2-30, 3-78, 4-125, 5-127, 6-131, 7-136, 8-159, 9-172, 10-179 (51.4 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Trueman12   3450--
Moss4   1140--
Lock21   9575--
Compton1   060--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Watsonlbw b Goddard24     
KG Suttlec Walcott b Goddard62     
PBH Mayc Depeiaza b Goddard0     
DCS Comptonlbw b Mullins15     
GAR Lockb Sobers18     
L Huttonb Atkinson3     
TW Graveneylbw b Goddard22     
+RT Spoonerc and b Atkinson28     
JC Lakerc Lucas b Goddard0     
AE Mossnot out0     
FS Truemannot out9     
Extras(11 b, 3 lb, 1 w)15
Total(9 wickets, 105.1 overs)196
Fall of wickets:
1-40, 2-40, 3-72, 4-112, 5-125, 6-127, 7-184, 8-184, 9-184
Barbados bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mullins8   2161--
Griffith3   080--
Sobers19   9361--
Goddard27   13435--
Walcott12   6230--

--> NS Lucas made his debut in First-Class matches
--> EHC Griffith made his debut in First-Class matches
--> ELG Hoad made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> CS Mullins made his last appearance in First-Class matches
--> DS Atkinson (1) passed his previous highest score of 83 in First-Class matches
--> DS Atkinson (1) made his first century in First-Class matches
--> DS Atkinson (1) passed 1000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 109
--> CC Depeiaza (1) passed his previous highest score of 26 in First-Class matches
--> KG Suttle (1) passed 3000 runs in First-Class matches when he reached 65
--> GAR Lock reached 500 wickets in First-Class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Barbados first innings
--> GAR Lock was no-balled for throwing for Marylebone Cricket Club (twice in three balls by JH Walcott and once by HB de C Jordan)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive