Bedfordshire v Hertfordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1904
VenueBedford School Ground, Bedford on 1st, 2nd August 1904 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBedfordshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultBedfordshire won by 7 wickets
PointsBedfordshire 3; Hertfordshire 0
Close of play day 1Bedfordshire (1) 128/6 (Thring 52*, Orr 27*)

Hertfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HE Whiteb Wharmby0     
AJ Golding hit wkt b Peel32     
CCT Dollc Pollitt b Moss16     
WE Colemanb Brown31     
A Butcherc Cantrell b Orr26     
CT Ruddc Cantrell b Brown0     
*HM Harfordnot out25     
ER Hardingc Brown b Orr2     
EG Blowc Moss b Brown9     
+CD Fastnedgeb Brown0     
JS Harfordst Cantrell b Orr3     
Total(all out, 85.4 overs)150
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-?, 3-70, 4-94, 5-100, 6-124, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-150 (85.4 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wharmby12   781--
Brown26   10364--
Moss22   10281--
Peel5   0191--

Bedfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HJJ Hodgkinsrun out12     
BL Peelb Coleman0     
G Pollittb Coleman1     
RW Ricelbw b White8     
GE Wharmbyc and b White5     
TA Brownb White14     
LCR Thringnot out85     
*HR Orrst Fastnedge b Coleman36     
RH Mossb Harding21     
AF Morcomb Coleman3     
+HM Cantrellb White20     
Total(all out, 77.4 overs)216
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-1, 3-18, 4-?, 5-?, 6-49, 7-143, 8-?, 9-?, 10-216 (77.4 ov)
Hertfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Coleman34   10764--
JS Harford5   0170--
Harding15   3591--
Golding4   1160--

Hertfordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
A Butcherb Morcom33     
AJ Goldingb Orr7     
CT Ruddlbw b Wharmby7     
WE Colemanb Morcom62     
HE Whitec Wharmby b Orr37     
*HM Harfordc Morcom b Moss14     
CCT Dollnot out34     
ER Hardingc Morcom b Orr5     
EG Blowc Cantrell b Orr0     
+CD Fastnedgeb Moss7     
JS Harfordc Thring b Morcom9     
Total(all out, 70.3 overs)220
Fall of wickets:
1-17, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-220 (70.3 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown7   0210--
Orr21   2704--
Wharmby16   1611--
Moss13   5182--

Bedfordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TA Brownc Fastnedge b JS Harford22     
RH Mossb White5     
BL Peelrun out40     
HJJ Hodgkinsnot out52     
*HR Orrnot out32     
G Pollittdid not bat      
RW Ricedid not bat      
GE Wharmbydid not bat      
LCR Thringdid not bat      
AF Morcomdid not bat      
+HM Cantrelldid not bat      
Total(3 wickets, 36 overs)157
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-81
Hertfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Coleman14   0490--
White3   1141--
Harding2   0140--
JS Harford11   0451--
Golding4   0180--
Rudd2   0110--

--> LCR Thring (1) passed 1000 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 26
--> HR Orr (1) passed 1500 runs in Minor Counties Championship matches when he reached 14
--> HM Cantrell (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> AF Morcom achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Hertfordshire second innings (previous best was 1-4)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Bedfordshire won by seven wickets at 6.10 pm on the second day, after requiring 155 runs in their second innings for victory in 115 minutes.
The match was the first of the Bedford Cricket Week.
For the winners, Thring scored 85 not out with 1 six and 8 fours and Hodgkins 52 not out.
In the Bedfordshire first innings, Thring and Orr added 94 runs for the seventh wicket.
For Hertfordshire, Coleman scored 62.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; falls of wickets; in Hertfordshire second innings part batting order, and boundaries in Coleman's 62; in Bedfordshire second innings boundaries in Hodgkins's 52 not out.]
Sources: Bedfordshire Standard 5 August; Leighton Buzzard Reporter 6 August (Tony Webb); Herts Advertiser 6 August (Bob Simons); West Herts and Watford Observer 6 August; The Sportsman 2,3 August (Tony Webb)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive