Bedfordshire v Staffordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1904
VenueBedford School Ground, Bedford on 3rd, 4th August 1904 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossStaffordshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsBedfordshire 1; Staffordshire 0
UmpiresJ Clifton, TH Holton
Close of play day 1Bedfordshire (1) 138/4 (Orr 50*, Brown 3*)

Staffordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Brownc Cantrell b Thring33     
A Hollowoodb Wharmby24     
SF Barnesc Brown b Peel30     
JB Feredayst Cantrell b Morcom21     
J Mantonb Peel4     
*HD Strattonc Wharmby b Brown55     
WJ Beddowslbw b Wharmby12     
EH Bournerun out22     
WH Twiggc and b Thring10     
+H Dearingb Thring0     
CJ Goodallnot out6     
Extras(14 b, 3 lb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 80.3 overs)235
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-45, 3-107, 4-115, 5-134, 6-166, 7-218, 8-229, 9-229, 10-235 (80.3 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Brown11   5201--
Morcom12   23811-
Orr17   3380--
Wharmby15   6342--
Moss6   2180--
Peel14   3492--

Bedfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HJJ Hodgkinsb Bourne63     
RW Riceb Manton1     
BL Peelb Goodall4     
LCR Thringrun out9     
*HR Orrb Bourne126     
TA Brownc Dearing b Manton48     
G Pollittnot out41     
RH Mossb Manton23     
GE Wharmbyrun out46     
+HM Cantrellnot out21     
AF Morcomdid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 8 lb, 2 nb, 3 w)21
Total(8 wickets, declared, 97 overs)403
Fall of wickets:
1-18, 2-29, 3-50, 4-117, 5-230, 6-270, 7-315, 8-377
Staffordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Goodall26   21001--
Manton25   49931-
Barnes3   1100--
Twigg9   146022
Hollowood9   3300--
Brown5   0230--
Bourne16   4682--
Fereday4   160--

Staffordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*HD Strattonb Hodgkins53     
W Brownc Cantrell b Moss37     
SF Barnesnot out9     
WJ Beddowsnot out1     
A Hollowooddid not bat      
JB Feredaydid not bat      
J Mantondid not bat      
EH Bournedid not bat      
WH Twiggdid not bat      
+H Dearingdid not bat      
CJ Goodalldid not bat      
Extras(7 b, 3 lb)10
Total(2 wickets, 44 overs)110
Fall of wickets:
1-91, 2-105
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wharmby8   3200--
Morcom5   170--
Orr6   1190--
Brown4   0100--
Thring5   1170--
Peel3   160--
Moss6   2101--
Hodgkins6   291--
Pollitt1   020--

--> HR Orr (1) passed his previous highest score of 81 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HR Orr (1) made his first century in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> HM Cantrell (1) passed his previous highest score of 20 in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> J Manton achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Bedfordshire first innings (previous best was 2-10)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
This second match of the Bedford Cricket Week was drawn, with Bedfordshire winning on first innings.
For the home team, there were 17 fours, 7 threes and 14 twos in Orr's 126, an innings of two hours and 15 minutes.
Hodgkins's 63 included 7 fours.
In the Bedfordshire innings, Orr and T A Brown added 113 runs for the fifth wicket, and Moss and Wharmby added 62 for the eighth wicket.
For the visitors, Stratton's two innings of 55 and 53 contained 3 fours and 4 fours respectively.
Nine of the Bedfordshire team bowled in the second Staffordshire innings.
A strain limited Barnes to bowling just 3 overs in the Bedfordshire innings. [The Staffordshire Scorebook has in the Staffordshire second innings Morcom bowling 5 overs, 1 maiden and conceding 10 runs, and Moss bowling 6 overs, 2 maidens and conceding 7 runs.
The version given is supported by the Bedfordshire averages in Wisden and the Bedfordshire Annual Report.]
[Missing: Complete.]
Sources: Staffordshire Scorebook; Bedfordshire Standard 5 August; Leighton Buzzard Reporter 6 August; Staffordshire Advertiser 6 August; Staffordshire Sentinel 3,4,6 August; Birmingham Daily Press 4,5 August; The Sportsman 4,5 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive