South Africa v England
Marylebone Cricket Club in South Africa 1905/06 (4th Test)
VenueNewlands, Cape Town on 24th, 26th, 27th March 1906 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth Africa won the toss and decided to bat
ResultEngland won by 4 wickets
UmpiresF Hearne, J Phillips
Close of play day 1England (1) 7/1 (Relf 0*, Blythe 6*)
Close of play day 2South Africa (2) 97/5 (Sinclair 1*)

South Africa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Tancredlbw b Blythe113835-- 
WA Shalderslbw b Blythe1654451- 
GC Whitec Board b Lees411491153- 
AW Noursec Hayes b Blythe287-- 
CMH Hathornb Blythe3126-- 
JH Sinclairc Board b Blythe011-- 
GA Faulknerb Blythe341451304- 
SJ Snookeb Crawford44109955- 
RO Schwarzc Moon b Relf33624541 
AEE Voglerb Haigh9692- 
*+PW Sherwellnot out022-- 
Extras(20 b, 3 lb, 2 w)25
Total(all out, 97.3 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-28 (Tancred), 2-34 (Shalders), 3-40 (Nourse), 4-44 (Hathorn), 5-44 (Sinclair), 6-116 (White), 7-136 (Faulkner), 8-199 (Schwarz), 9-218 (Vogler), 10-218 (Snooke, 97.3 ov)
England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lees27   12421--
Blythe32   13686--
Haigh19   8381--
Relf6   2171--

England first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
+JH Boardb Snooke021-- 
AE Relflbw b Faulkner2861605- 
C Blytheb Faulkner2794751- 
FL Faneb Sinclair92835-- 
D Dentonc Vogler b Snooke3475704- 
*PF Warnerc Snooke b Faulkner1105-- 
JN Crawfordnot out361601504- 
LJ Moonb Sinclair33777011 
EG Hayeslbw b Sinclair011-- 
S Haighc Nourse b Sinclair02723-- 
WS Leesc Hathorn b Faulkner5631- 
Extras(14 b, 6 lb, 4 nb, 1 w)25
Total(all out, 89.5 overs)198
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Board), 2-59 (Relf), 3-70 (Blythe), 4-98 (Fane), 5-101 (Warner), 6-137 (Denton), 7-193 (Moon), 8-193 (Hayes), 9-193 (Haigh), 10-198 (Lees, 89.5 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snooke18   5412--
Schwarz12   2340--
Sinclair27   10414--
Vogler5   370--
Nourse2   110--

South Africa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Tancredc Haigh b Blythe1048301- 
WA Shaldersc Blythe b Crawford013-- 
GC Whiteb Lees73122105101 
AW Noursec Crawford b Blythe31415-- 
CMH Hathornb Lees1049501- 
JH Sinclairb Lees11315-- 
GA Faulknerb Blythe42925-- 
SJ Snookeb Blythe53235-- 
RO Schwarzc Haigh b Lees819191- 
*+PW Sherwellb Blythe921181- 
AEE Voglernot out1211102- 
Extras(3 lb)3
Total(all out, 59.5 overs)138
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Shalders), 2-28 (Tancred), 3-40 (Nourse), 4-94 (Hathorn), 5-97 (White), 6-102 (Sinclair), 7-106 (Faulkner), 8-115 (Snooke), 9-121 (Schwarz), 10-138 (Sherwell, 59.5 ov)
England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford15   5461--
Lees14   5274--
Haigh2   0120--

England second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*PF Warnerb Sinclair41791- 
JN Crawfordb Sinclair477-- 
D Dentonb Snooke2025142- 
FL Fanenot out661661605- 
LJ Moonlbw b Faulkner2877753- 
AE Relfb Vogler1844402- 
EG Hayesb Sinclair012-- 
+JH Boardnot out1419251- 
C Blythedid not bat      
S Haighdid not bat      
WS Leesdid not bat      
Extras(3 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(6 wickets, 59.1 overs)160
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Crawford), 2-20 (Warner), 3-34 (Denton), 4-100 (Moon), 5-131 (Relf), 6-134 (Hayes)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snooke19   6411--
Faulkner5   0211--
Nourse1   060--
Schwarz2   060--
Vogler6   1131--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> GA Faulkner (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in Test matches
--> SJ Snooke (1) passed his previous highest score of 29 in Test matches
--> RO Schwarz (1) passed his previous highest score of 10 in Test matches
--> C Blythe (1) passed his previous highest score of 20 in Test matches
--> GC White (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 26
--> C Blythe achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed JH Sinclair in the South Africa first innings (previous best was 4-30)
--> C Blythe achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Test matches in the South Africa first innings
--> C Blythe reached 50 wickets in first-class matches for the season when he dismissed GA Faulkner, his 6th wicket in the South Africa first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive