Australia v Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka in Australia 1995/96 (1st Test)
VenueWestern Australia Cricket Association Ground, Perth on 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th December 1995 (5-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat
ResultAustralia won by an innings and 36 runs
UmpiresKhizer Hayat, PD Parker
TV umpireBT Rennie
RefereeGT Dowling
ScorersCA Bull (Australia), SA Wheeler (Sri Lanka)
Close of play day 1Sri Lanka (1) 251 all out
Close of play day 2Australia (1) 358/2 (Slater 189*, Waugh 36*; 90 overs)
Close of play day 3Sri Lanka (2) 13/0 (Mahanama 2*, Hathurusingha 7*; 4 overs)
Man of the MatchMJ Slater

Sri Lanka first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamac Warne b McDermott1552801- 
UC Hathurusinghac Law b McGrath1432412- 
AP Gurusinhab McGrath461401574- 
PA de Silvac and b Warne1027401- 
*A Ranatungac Healy b McGrath32547921 
HP Tillakaratnelbw b McDermott65168-- 
+RS Kaluwitharanac Taylor b Warne5074907- 
HDPK Dharmasenab McDermott3072924- 
WPUJC Vaasc Healy b Warne4712-- 
GP Wickramasinghec Julian b McGrath2832385- 
M Muralitharannot out001-- 
Extras(4 b, 9 lb, 3 nb)16
Total(all out, 365 minutes, 89.4 overs)251
Fall of wickets:
1-25 (Hathurusingha), 2-38 (Mahanama), 3-54 (de Silva), 4-129 (Gurusinha), 5-132 (Ranatunga), 6-172 (Tillakaratne), 7-193 (Kaluwitharana), 8-205 (Vaas), 9-251 (Wickramasinghe), 10-251 (Dharmasena)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGrath24   3814-1
Julian17   8320--
Warne27   7753-2
Waugh3   160--

Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MJ Slaterc and b Muralitharan219321460155 
*MA Taylorlbw b de Silva9617322414- 
DC Boonc Hathurusingha b Muralitharan1350601- 
ME Waughc Kaluwitharana b Vaas11122326171 
RT Pontinglbw b Vaas961842368- 
SG Lawnot out541181531- 
+IA Healydid not bat      
BP Juliandid not bat      
SK Warnedid not bat      
CJ McDermottdid not bat      
GD McGrathdid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 18 nb)28
Total(5 wickets, declared, 698 minutes, 174 overs)617
Fall of wickets:
1-228 (Taylor), 2-266 (Boon), 3-422 (Slater), 4-496 (Waugh), 5-617 (Ponting)
Sri Lanka bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wickramasinghe31   31230-7
Vaas31   51032-3
Muralitharan54   32242-4
Hathurusingha9   3310--
Dharmasena31   5840--
de Silva18   1421-4

Sri Lanka second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RS Mahanamab McGrath48971286- 
UC Hathurusinghac Healy b McGrath1124351- 
AP Gurusinhac Healy b McDermott71730-- 
PA de Silvac Ponting b Warne2035364- 
*A Ranatungab McGrath466411461 
HP Tillakaratnec Ponting b Warne11920626712- 
+RS Kaluwitharanac Ponting b Julian4042456- 
HDPK Dharmasenalbw b McDermott1863873- 
WPUJC Vaasc Healy b Warne419201- 
GP Wickramasinghec Warne b McDermott034-- 
M Muralitharannot out3410-- 
Extras(4 lb, 10 nb)14
Total(all out, 397 minutes, 93.4 overs)330
Fall of wickets:
1-35 (Hathurusingha), 2-56 (Gurusinha), 3-87 (de Silva), 4-105 (Mahanama), 5-193 (Ranatunga), 6-258 (Kaluwitharana), 7-310 (Dharmasena), 8-318 (Vaas), 9-319 (Wickramasinghe), 10-330 (Tillakaratne)
Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
McGrath24   7863--
McDermott20   3733-10
Julian13   4401--
Waugh4   0220--
Law3   190--

--> The match was scheduled for five days but completed in four.
--> Australia first innings: 200 in 45.3 overs
--> Australia first innings: 300 in 471 balls
--> UC Hathurusingha (1) passed 5500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 14
--> HDPK Dharmasena (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> GP Wickramasinghe (1) passed his previous highest score of 22 in Test matches
--> MJ Slater (1) 100 in 126 balls with 6 fours
--> MJ Slater (1) 150 in 196 balls with 13 fours and 4 sixes
--> MJ Slater (1) passed his previous highest score of 176 in first-class matches
--> MJ Slater (1) passed his previous highest score of 176 in Test matches
--> MJ Slater (1) passed 2500 runs in Test matches when he reached 198
--> RT Ponting made his debut in Test matches
--> SG Law made his debut in Test matches
--> HP Tillakaratne (2) passed his previous highest score of 116 in Test matches
--> HP Tillakaratne (2) passed 2000 runs in Test matches when he reached 73
--> SK Warne reached 200 wickets in Test matches when he dismissed WPUJC Vaas, his 2nd wicket in the Sri Lanka second innings

12th Men: MS Kasprowicz (Aus) and KR Pushpakumara (SL)
Attendance: 8138
Attendance: 7550
Attendance: 9078
Attendance: 4119 (Total: 28885)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


We would like to thank all our contributors. Click here to see how to you can help.
Copyright © 2003-2014 CricketArchive