West Indies name Champions Trophy squad
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Player:FH Edwards
Event:ICC Champions Trophy 2009/10

DateLine: 21st July 2009


The West Indian selectors have named mostly inexperienced players in their 30 men provisional squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy 2009. Of all the striking players only Fidel Edwards finds place in the squad, while boycotting captain Chris Gayle and his team mates Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnaraine Chanderpaul, Dwayne Bravo and others have all being omitted from the squad.


Darren Powell makes a comeback after being dropped. Other players with international experience who weren't part of the Bangladesh series are opener Devon Smith and upcoming youngsters Kieron Pollard and Andre Fletcher. Most of the players who were part of a second-string West Indian side which sank to a 2-0 Test series defeat to Bangladesh, including captain Floyd Reifer, have been named in the squad.


The West Indies board was forced to name a weakened side due to its ongoing dispute with the West Indies Players' Association (WIPA), with neither willing to back down despite widespread criticism of both sides.


The squad : Ryan Austin, Christopher Barnwell, David Bernard, Tino Best, Royston Crandon, Romel Currency, Travis Dowlin, Fidel Edwards, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Ryan Hinds, Leon Johnson, Anthony Martin, Kevin McClean, Nikita Miller, Nelon Pascal, Brenton Parchment, Omar Phillips, Daren Powell, Kieron Pollard, Floyd Reifer, Dale Richards, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Kevin Stoute, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge, Chadwick Walton.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive