Bermuda prove too solid in comfortable win over Cayman Islands
by International Cricket Council

Scorecard:Bermuda v Cayman Islands
Player:CRM Douglas, LOB Cann, DL Hemp, A Morris, PI Best, RA Sealy, IH Romaine

DateLine: 29th November 2008


At the magnificent Central Broward Regional Park (CBRP), Bermuda proved too strong and too experienced for the Cayman Islands, and registered a comfortable 73 run victory. Batting first, Bermuda posted 220 for 7 in their allotted 50 overs, with David Hemp showing his class with a fine timely innings of 51 off 59 balls, with 4 fours and 3 sixes.


Also making good contributions with the bat for Bermuda were Christoper Douglas and Stephen Outerbridge, both making 39. Best of the Cayman bowlers were Ryan Bovell, 2 for 42 in 10 overs, and Alessandro Morris, 2 for 30 in 10 overs.


In reply the Cayman batting never got to grips with the run-chase, and finally saw the end of their 50 overs arriving with their total on 147 for 9. Skipper Pearson Best top-scored with 29, off 60 balls, while another valuable contribution came from Ainsley Hall, 27 off 53 balls. Christopher Douglas turned in a fine bowling performance for Bermuda, finishing with 4 for 18 in 8 overs, while Rodney Trott took 2 for 34.


Bermuda coach Gus Logie was satisfied with the performance and win: “Today I think we played as well as we could considering the slow nature of the pitch, and I was pleased with the way the players adapted to the conditions during the game.”


Theo Cuffy, coach of the Cayman Islands, pointed to a need in improvement in the teams batting: “A lot of the guys got good starts and didn’t carry on, but we made it more difficult for ourselves by not creating good partnerships and losing wickets in twos and threes. We definitely let the game slip away in the middle overs, even though our work rate in the field was excellent.”

(Article: The opinions expressed in this article are those of the author only.
Copyright © 2008 International Cricket Council)


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2024 CricketArchive