Abdur Razzak suspended from bowling in international cricket
by ICC Media Release

Ground:Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur
Scorecard:Bangladesh v New Zealand
Player:Abdur Razzak, EAR de Silva, DJ Harper
Event:New Zealand in Bangladesh 2008/09

DateLine: 1st December 2008


The ICC today announced that Bangladesh bowler Abdur Razzak has been suspended from bowling in international cricket pending fresh assessment after independent analysis of his bowling action revealed that his action exceeded the 15-degree level of tolerance permitted under regulations.


The independent analysis was performed by Dr Marc Portus, member of the ICC Panel of Human Movement Specialists, at the Australian Institute of Sport, Biomechanics Department, Canberra, Australia on Monday 17 November.


The analysis showed that the amount of elbow extension in Razzak’s bowling action for both his stock delivery and fast ball exceeded the 15 degree level of tolerance. The elbow extension ranged from 22 to 28 degrees and averaged 25 degrees while his quicker ball showed results in the 22 to 28-degree range with an average of 24 degrees.


Razzak was reported for a suspected illegal bowling action by the on-field umpires, Daryl Harper and Asoka de Silva, both of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, following completion of the second Test match between Bangladesh and New Zealand played in Dhaka from 25 to 29 October 2008.


The suspension applies with immediate effect. He can apply for re-assessment of his bowling action after he has modified it in accordance with clause G of the regulations for the review of bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions.


Razzak has the right to appeal against Dr Portus’s conclusions to the Bowling Review Group, in accordance with clause F of the regulations for the review of bowlers reported with suspected illegal bowling actions. Should he choose to appeal, he must lodge written notification with the ICC within 14 days of receiving the report.


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive