Doug Bollinger and Andrew McDonald to debut at the SCG
by CricketArchive Staff Reporter

Event:South Africa in Australia 2008/09

DateLine: 2nd January 2009


A compelling home town record has helped NSW left-arm paceman Doug Bollinger usurp Ben Hilfenhaus as the replacement for Brett Lee in tomorrow's third Test against South Africa. Bollinger and Victorian all-rounder Andrew McDonald will both make their debuts in the side and will form part of the most inexperienced seam attack in living memory.


Mitchell Johnson, who debuted last summer, is the most experienced bowler with 17 Tests to his name, followed by Peter Siddle (3 Tests) and Nathan Hauritz (3 Tests). Captain Ricky Ponting said today he expected Bollinger and Siddle to open the bowling and Johnson to come on as first change. McDonald has come in to replace the injured Andrew Symonds, but Bollinger's call-up means Australia will play two left-arm pacemen for the first time in nealy 20 years.


Australia are two-nil down in the series and have struggled to bowl good sides out for the past six months. Ponting said the decision between Bollinger and Hilfenhaus came down largely to the game's location.


“That's probably a lot to do with his overall skills at the SCG,” said Ponting. “He's got a very good record here, five or six five-fors at the SCG and six wickets in his last game here for New South Wales. He obviously knows the conditions very well and will swing the new ball for us hopefully, and he's got very good skills with the old ball.”


Bollinger said he was not going to think too much about the debut tomorrow as he probably wouldn't sleep and might drive himself insane.


“I'm just going out there and do what I have been doing when I have been playing for NSW,” he said. “Just try and swing the ball and try and intimidate batsmen. Try and be competitive and enjoy myself as well.” Australia: M Hayden, S Katich, R Ponting (c), M Hussey, M Clarke, A Symonds, B Haddin, D Bollinger, M Johnson, A McDonald, N Hauritz, , P Siddle. 12th man B Hilfenhaus



| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2021 CricketArchive