Essex v Derbyshire
County Championship 1929
VenueSouthchurch Park, Southend-on-Sea on 21st, 22nd, 23rd August 1929 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 8 wickets
PointsEssex 0; Derbyshire 8
UmpiresJ Hardstaff, TW Oates
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 48/2 (Lee 22*, Jackson 11*)
Close of play day 2Essex (2) 60/1 (Cutmore 34*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NG Wykesb Hill-Wood10     
JA Cutmorec Elliott b Worthington28     
J O'Connor hit wkt b Mitchell4     
CAG Russellc Alderman b Worthington62     
LC Eastmanc Jackson b Worthington31     
DR Wilcoxb Worthington0     
*+FW Gilliganb Worthington13     
AB Hipkinst Elliott b Lee17     
CF Mercerb Worthington2     
AG Daernot out4     
TPB Smithlbw b Worthington3     
Extras(1 b, 5 lb, 3 nb)9
Total(all out, 89.2 overs)183
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-24, 3-57, 4-105, 5-108, 6-148, 7-159, 8-161, 9-180, 10-183 (89.2 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Slater14   8120--
Hill-Wood16   4311--
Mitchell10   2291--
Townsend13   4210--
Lee7   0131--

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Storerlbw b Eastman1     
GM Leest Gilligan b Daer113     
LF Townsendb Daer4     
*GR Jacksonc Cutmore b Eastman43     
AG Slaterlbw b Hipkin54     
TS Worthingtonb O'Connor25     
AE Aldermanb Daer26     
JM Hutchinsonnot out60     
CKH Hill-Woodc Cutmore b Hipkin18     
+H Elliottrun out3     
TB Mitchellc Hipkin b Daer13     
Extras(11 b, 7 lb, 1 nb, 1 w)20
Total(all out, 135.2 overs)380
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-32, 3-102, 4-204, 5-251, 6-264, 7-308, 8-351, 9-354, 10-380 (135.2 ov)
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Eastman18   6502--
O'Connor27   5781--
Hipkin46   14822--
Smith7   0450--
Cutmore3   1100--

Essex second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
NG Wykesb Worthington16     
JA Cutmorec Alderman b Lee76     
J O'Connorc Elliott b Townsend33     
CAG Russellc Storer b Lee0     
LC Eastmanc Worthington b Slater56     
DR Wilcoxb Hill-Wood12     
*+FW Gilliganb Worthington3     
AB Hipkinc Hutchinson b Slater9     
CF Mercerc Worthington b Slater8     
AG Daernot out10     
TPB Smithlbw b Slater0     
Extras(14 b, 7 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)26
Total(all out, 111.5 overs)249
Fall of wickets:
1-60, 2-132, 3-135, 4-168, 5-198, 6-209, 7-225, 8-232, 9-249, 10-249 (111.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Hill-Wood19   7451--
Mitchell7   0190--
Worthington26   7642--
Townsend20   0311--
Lee21   5392--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Storernot out13     
GM Leeb Daer10     
TS Worthingtonc Cutmore b O'Connor3     
*GR Jacksonnot out23     
LF Townsenddid not bat      
AG Slaterdid not bat      
AE Aldermandid not bat      
JM Hutchinsondid not bat      
CKH Hill-Wooddid not bat      
+H Elliottdid not bat      
TB Mitchelldid not bat      
Extras(2 b, 1 lb, 1 nb)4
Total(2 wickets, 18.1 overs)53
Fall of wickets:
1-19, 2-22
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Daer7   0141--
Eastman2   060--
O'Connor7   1131--

--> CF Mercer made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> CF Mercer made his last appearance in County Championship matches
--> JA Cutmore (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 18
--> GM Lee (1) passed 10000 runs in County Championship matches when he reached 19
--> J O'Connor (2) passed 2000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 29
--> H Storer (2) passed 7500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> TS Worthington reached 250 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 4th wicket in the Essex first innings
--> TB Mitchell reached 100 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings
--> LC Eastman reached 450 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Derbyshire first innings
--> AG Slater reached 300 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex second innings
--> J O'Connor reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Derbyshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive