Leicestershire v Essex
County Championship 1931
VenueAylestone Road, Leicester on 16th, 18th, 19th May 1931 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEssex won the toss and decided to bat
ResultMatch drawn
PointsLeicestershire 5; Essex 3
UmpiresEF Field, FI Walden
Close of play day 1Essex (1) 172/4 (Nichols 3*, Eastman 2*)
Close of play day 2Essex (1) 245/7 (Morris 9*)

Essex first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JA Cutmorec Astill b Geary69     
DF Popeb Snary58     
J O'Connorc Astill b Shipman11     
C Brayb Shipman21     
MS Nicholsc Geary b Armstrong14     
LC Eastmanc Armstrong b Astill35     
+JR Sheffieldc Sidwell b Geary17     
*HM Morrisnot out9     
AB Hipkindid not bat      
AG Daerdid not bat      
TPB Smithdid not bat      
Extras(8 b, 2 lb, 1 nb)11
Total(7 wickets, declared, 146.4 overs)245
Fall of wickets:
1-124, 2-136, 3-164, 4-165, 5-197, 6-225, 7-245 (146.4 ov)
Leicestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Shipman24   3612--
Geary47   23682--
Snary34   16291--
Coleman3   1130--
Armstrong8   1121--

Leicestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AW Shipmanc Nichols b Daer11     
GL Berryc Sheffield b Nichols2     
NF Armstrongc Smith b Nichols47     
H Rileyc Bray b Nichols29     
*AT Sharpc Smith b Nichols59     
JC Bradshawc Smith b Nichols0     
CAR Colemanb Smith22     
WE Astillnot out64     
G Gearylbw b Nichols4     
+TE Sidwellnot out2     
HC Snarydid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 4 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(8 wickets, 86 overs)246
Fall of wickets:
1-13, 2-15, 3-88, 4-95, 5-95, 6-134, 7-229, 8-241
Essex bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Nichols25   7816--
Daer16   1451--
Hipkin6   280--
Eastman16   2450--
Smith18   2481--
O'Connor5   1130--

--> H Riley (1) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 29
--> HC Snary reached 200 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Essex first innings
--> AG Daer reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Leicestershire first innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive