Derbyshire v Northamptonshire
County Championship 1931
VenueCounty Ground, Derby on 22nd, 23rd, 24th July 1931 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossDerbyshire won the toss and decided to bat
ResultDerbyshire won by 6 wickets
PointsDerbyshire 15; Northamptonshire 0
UmpiresJJ Bowles, HI Young
Close of play day 1Derbyshire (1) 388/8 (Slater 11*, Elliott 0*)
Close of play day 2Northamptonshire (2) 144/3 (Timms 78*, Coverdale 34*)

Derbyshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Storerc Bakewell b Matthews46     
D Smithlbw b Matthews14     
GM Leec Matthews b Jupp173     
GR Jacksonc Ball b Partridge51     
LF Townsendc Thomas b Cox23     
AE Aldermanb Jupp9     
TS Worthingtonb Jupp18     
*AW Richardsonlbw b Thomas27     
AG Slaternot out11     
+H Elliottnot out0     
TB Mitchelldid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 10 lb)16
Total(8 wickets, declared, 135 overs)388
Fall of wickets:
1-26, 2-113, 3-219, 4-288, 5-328, 6-336, 7-363, 8-387
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Thomas39   6851--
Matthews23   5492--
Partridge27   5611--
Cox22   4761--
Jupp24   31013--

Northamptonshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AH Bakewellb Worthington6     
JE Timmsb Worthington50     
AL Coxc and b Mitchell8     
*VWC Juppc Elliott b Mitchell46     
WW Coverdalelbw b Worthington16     
AG Liddellb Slater0     
ADG Matthewsb Mitchell7     
AW Snowdenc Storer b Mitchell10     
AE Thomaslbw b Mitchell0     
RJ Partridgeb Townsend11     
+WJ Ballnot out0     
Extras(1 b, 4 lb)5
Total(all out, 71.3 overs)159
Fall of wickets:
1-23, 2-64, 3-84, 4-122, 5-124, 6-137, 7-140, 8-140, 9-159, 10-159 (71.3 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Slater14   2341--
Worthington25   4473--
Mitchell20   4395--
Storer5   0180--

Northamptonshire second innings (following on)RunsBallsMins4s6s
AH Bakewellb Slater2     
JE Timmsc Slater b Mitchell147     
AL Coxb Worthington4     
*VWC Juppc Elliott b Worthington24     
WW Coverdalerun out35     
AG Liddellc and b Worthington1     
ADG Matthewsrun out56     
AW Snowdenc Elliott b Lee18     
AE Thomasb Worthington25     
RJ Partridgenot out1     
+WJ Ballc Elliott b Lee0     
Extras(3 b, 8 lb)11
Total(all out, 133.5 overs)324
Fall of wickets:
1-8, 2-23, 3-67, 4-147, 5-154, 6-272, 7-274, 8-315, 9-323, 10-324 (133.5 ov)
Derbyshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Slater26   8491--
Worthington32   8514--
Mitchell36   71151--
Townsend21   9270--
Storer7   0210--

Derbyshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
H Storerb Partridge18     
D Smithnot out43     
GM Leec Thomas b Jupp14     
GR Jacksonlbw b Jupp13     
LF Townsendlbw b Jupp0     
AE Aldermannot out4     
TS Worthingtondid not bat      
*AW Richardsondid not bat      
AG Slaterdid not bat      
+H Elliottdid not bat      
TB Mitchelldid not bat      
Extras(4 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(4 wickets, 27.2 overs)97
Fall of wickets:
1-43, 2-68, 3-86, 4-86
Northamptonshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Matthews10   2280--
Partridge11   1321--

--> D Smith (1) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 10
--> GR Jackson (1) passed 9500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> AW Richardson (1) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 11
--> JE Timms (2) passed his previous highest score of 131 in County Championship matches
--> JE Timms (2) passed his previous highest score of 131 in first-class matches
--> JE Timms (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches for the season when he reached 113
--> JE Timms (2) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 128
--> WW Coverdale (2) equalled his previous highest score of 35 in County Championship matches
--> WW Coverdale (2) equalled his previous highest score of 35 in first-class matches
--> ADG Matthews (2) passed 2500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 12
--> TS Worthington reached 350 wickets in County Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Northamptonshire first innings
--> TS Worthington reached 400 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Northamptonshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive