Cambridge University v Oxford University
Other matches in England 1942
VenueLord's Cricket Ground, St John's Wood on 27th June 1942 (1-day single innings match)
Balls per over8
TossCambridge University won the toss and decided to bat
ResultCambridge University won by 77 runs
UmpiresG Beet, AJB Fowler

Cambridge University inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JR Bridgerlbw b Hussey75     
*JD Matthewsc Butterfield b Dixon68     
GF Ansonb Butterfield85  10- 
BGM Cangleyb Hussey5     
AFG Austinb Butterfield34     
SS Rogerslbw b Henley3     
RGT Pentneylbw b Henley0     
BC Levettb Henley0     
WR Juckesnot out0     
GL Robinsnot out0     
+TM Cullingworthdid not bat      
Extras(12 b, 2 lb, 7 nb, 4 w)25
Total(8 wickets, declared, 46 overs)295
Fall of wickets:
1-118 (Matthews), 2-164 (Bridger), 3-170 (Cangley), 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?
Oxford University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Henley12   2543--
Toynbee11   0680--
Hussey11   2502--
Purkiss3   0240--
Dixon6   0491--
Butterfield3   0252--

Oxford University inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LK Purkissc Bridger b Austin36     
CP Lindsayc Cangley b Austin61 160   
CF Deaconc Matthews b Rogers15     
CD Lawriec Cullingworth b Robins25     
DF Henleyst Cullingworth b Austin19     
G Ullyettc and b Austin3     
*WJH Butterfieldb Austin22     
AN Matherb Robins8     
GE Dixonlbw b Robins0     
LL Toynbeeb Robins0     
MJ Husseynot out0     
Extras(12 b, 5 lb, 2 nb, 10 w)29
Total(all out, 54.7 overs)218
Fall of wickets:
1-70 (Purkiss), 2-104 (Deacon), 3-? (Lawrie), 4-? (Henley), 5-? (Lindsay), 6-?, 7-214, 8-214, 9-214, 10-218 (54.7 ov)
Cambridge University bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Juckes10   1340--
Levett4   270--
Pentney3   0110--
Robins18   4534--
Rogers5   1241--
Bridger4   0130--

--> Cambridge University innings: 100 in 65 minutes

Cambridge University won with one ball remaining of the last over of the match.
The attendance was 7,000 spectators of which 6,115 paid at the gate.
Proceeds of 113 went to the Red Cross.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive