New South Wales v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1954/55
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 12th, 13th, 15th, 16th November 1954 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to field
ResultMatch drawn
UmpiresHAR Elphinstone, HR Mackinnon
Close of play day 1New South Wales (1) 19/0 (Watson 5*, Morris 14*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (1) 294/4 (Watson 138*, de Courcy 20*)
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 138/3 (Cowdrey 71*, Edrich 24*)

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*L Huttonc Davidson b Treanor102     
WJ Edrichc Watson b Crawford7     
RT Simpsonc Simpson b Crawford0     
PBH Mayc Lambert b Treanor1     
JV Wilsonc Simpson b Miller9     
MC Cowdreyc and b Davidson110     
+TG Evansc Watson b Crawford11     
FH Tysonc Simpson b Treanor7     
AV Bedserc Lambert b Davidson0     
PJ Loaderc and b Davidson0     
R Appleyardnot out0     
Extras(2 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)5
Total(all out, 304 minutes, 77.2 overs)252
Fall of wickets:
1-24, 2-24, 3-25, 4-38, 5-201, 6-245, 7-249, 8-252, 9-252, 10-252 (77.2 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford17   6513-1
Treanor16   3643--
Miller8   0311--
Benaud15   2500--
Burke3   060--
Simpson2   0401-

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WJ Watsonlbw b Tyson155     
AR Morrisc Simpson b Bedser26     
R Benaudc May b Tyson2     
*KR Millerc Wilson b Bedser86     
JW Burkelbw b Bedser6     
JH de Courcyb Appleyard20     
RB Simpsonc Evans b Tyson22     
AK Davidsonc Loader b Bedser30     
+O Lambertc Wilson b Loader6     
JC Treanorc Wilson b Tyson12     
WPA Crawfordnot out0     
Extras(8 b, 4 lb, 5 nb)17
Total(all out, 437 minutes, 88.5 overs)382
Fall of wickets:
1-48, 2-51, 3-212, 4-253, 5-294, 6-328, 7-335, 8-343, 9-374, 10-382 (88.5 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson25   2984--
Loader18   2921-1
Appleyard21   3581--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MC Cowdreylbw b Crawford103     
JV Wilsonb Crawford0     
RT Simpsonb Crawford21     
PBH Mayc de Courcy b Treanor16     
WJ Edrichc Burke b Davidson37     
*L Huttonc Simpson b Treanor87     
+TG Evansc Simpson b Davidson7     
FH Tysonb Crawford15     
AV Bedserc Simpson b Treanor5     
PJ Loaderc Burke b Treanor16     
R Appleyardnot out9     
Extras(5 lb, 5 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 409 minutes, 110.5 overs)327
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-39, 3-69, 4-158, 5-226, 6-253, 7-292, 8-298, 9-312, 10-327 (110.5 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davidson27   10632--
Crawford19   186415
Benaud29   11520--
Simpson3   1110--
Burke1   100--
Miller6   180--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WJ Watsonc May b Loader8     
JW Burkenot out34     
RB Simpsonb Loader4     
AK Davidsonnot out27     
AR Morrisdid not bat      
R Benauddid not bat      
*KR Millerdid not bat      
JH de Courcydid not bat      
+O Lambertdid not bat      
JC Treanordid not bat      
WPA Crawforddid not bat      
Extras(2 lb, 3 nb)5
Total(2 wickets, 75 minutes, 16 overs)78
Fall of wickets:
1-16, 2-29
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson2   110-3
Bedser4   0130--
Loader4   0142--
Appleyard3   170--
Cowdrey3   0380--

--> WPA Crawford made his debut in first-class matches
--> WJ Watson (1) passed his previous highest score of 82 in first-class matches
--> WJ Watson (1) made his first century in first-class matches

12th Men: JW O'Reilly (NSW) and TE Bailey (MCC)
Crowds: 12530, 27962, 12563, 6235. Total: 59,290. Receipts: 6,866 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive