New South Wales v Marylebone Cricket Club
Marylebone Cricket Club in Australia and New Zealand 1954/55
VenueSydney Cricket Ground, Sydney on 18th, 19th, 21st, 22nd February 1955 (4-day match)
Balls per over8
TossNew South Wales won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNew South Wales won by 45 runs
UmpiresJP Bowden, CE Wigzell
Close of play day 1Marylebone Cricket Club (1) 4/2 (Simpson 0*, Loader 0*)
Close of play day 2New South Wales (2) 18/1 (Burke 14*, Simpson 3*)
Close of play day 3Marylebone Cricket Club (2) 26/0 (Simpson 19*, Graveney 5*)

New South Wales first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RE Briggsc Evans b Bedser0     
JW Burkec Cowdrey b Bedser0     
RB Simpsonc Graveney b Tyson6     
R Benaudc Wardle b Bedser1     
*KR Millerc Graveney b Loader11     
PI Philpottst Evans b Bedser46     
BC Boothnot out74     
AK Davidsonc Graveney b Bedser9     
WPA Crawfordc Evans b Wilson19     
+O Lambertc Cowdrey b Wardle1     
JC Treanorc Graveney b Wilson0     
Extras(1 b, 3 lb, 1 nb)5
Total(all out, 291 minutes, 57.1 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-1, 3-3, 4-16, 5-26, 6-109, 7-127, 8-167, 9-168, 10-172 (57.1 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Bedser20   3575--
Tyson16   4271-1
Loader12   2561--
Wardle8   2261--

Marylebone Cricket Club first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Simpsonc Briggs b Davidson6     
JV Wilsonb Miller0     
PBH Mayc Lambert b Crawford3     
PJ Loaderb Davidson0     
TW Graveneyc Lambert b Davidson35     
MC Cowdreyc Lambert b Davidson12     
*L Huttonc Simpson b Treanor48     
+TG Evansb Crawford40     
JH Wardlec Crawford b Treanor16     
FH Tysonrun out (Briggs)3     
AV Bedsernot out2     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb, 5 nb)7
Total(all out, 243 minutes, 52 overs)172
Fall of wickets:
1-1, 2-4, 3-10, 4-13, 5-35, 6-94, 7-130, 8-153, 9-157, 10-172 (52 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford15   3472-5
Miller10   0311--
Davidson12   3254--
Treanor11   4442--
Benaud3   0100--
Philpott1   080--

New South Wales second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
JW Burkec Graveney b Wardle62     
RE Briggsb Tyson0     
RB Simpsonst Evans b Wardle98     
AK Davidsonc Cowdrey b Wardle0     
R Benaudst Evans b Wardle57     
*KR Millerc May b Bedser71     
BC Boothc Evans b Bedser0     
PI Philpottb Wardle11     
WPA Crawfordnot out0     
+O Lambertdid not bat      
JC Treanordid not bat      
Extras(10 lb, 3 nb, 2 w)15
Total(8 wickets, declared, 327 minutes, 70.2 overs)314
Fall of wickets:
1-2, 2-161, 3-161, 4-196, 5-260, 6-263, 7-314, 8-314 (70.2 ov)
Marylebone Cricket Club bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Tyson9   2241--
Loader10   228011
Wardle25   01185--
Wilson4   0420--

Marylebone Cricket Club second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
RT Simpsonc Davidson b Benaud24     
TW Graveneylbw b Benaud28     
PBH Mayb Miller42     
JV Wilsonb Davidson4     
*L Huttonc +Simpson b Burke59     
MC Cowdreyc +Simpson b Booth33     
+TG Evansc Miller b Davidson39     
JH Wardlec Philpott b Treanor12     
FH Tysonc Benaud b Treanor0     
AV Bedsernot out0     
PJ Loaderc Benaud b Treanor8     
Extras(13 b, 3 lb, 3 nb, 1 w)20
Total(all out, 297 minutes, 71.7 overs)269
Fall of wickets:
1-36, 2-63, 3-68, 4-145, 5-189, 6-222, 7-250, 8-261, 9-261, 10-269 (71.7 ov)
New South Wales bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Crawford8   0370-2
Miller5   0151-1
Davidson13   14321-
Benaud21   7622--
Philpott6   2220--
Burke3   161--
Booth2   0101--

--> RE Briggs made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> RB Simpson (1) passed 500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 5
--> BC Booth (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in first-class matches
--> TG Evans (1) passed 10500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 36
--> AK Davidson reached 200 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Marylebone Cricket Club first innings

Owing to an injury to Lambert, RB Simpson kept wicket in the MCC second innings
12th Men: EK Cotton (NSW) and R Appleyard (MCC)
Crowds: 6441, 17123, 6533, 4101. Total: 34,198. Receipts: 3,493 pounds





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive