Gloucestershire v Nottinghamshire
County Championship 1972
VenueAshley Down Ground, Bristol on 30th, 31st August, 1st September 1972 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossGloucestershire won the toss and decided to field
ResultNottinghamshire won by 42 runs
PointsGloucestershire 6 (Batting 1, Bowling 5); Nottinghamshire 16 (Batting 2, Bowling 4)
UmpiresJF Crapp, JG Langridge
Close of play day 1Gloucestershire (1) 96/2 (Zaheer Abbas 11*, Knight 5*)
Close of play day 2Nottinghamshire (2) 142/7 (Smedley 41*)

Nottinghamshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SB Hassanc Knight b Mortimore85     
G Frostc Brown b Davey1     
*JB Bolusc Swetman b Brown23     
MJ Smedleyc Swetman b Brown0     
DW Randallc Swetman b Brown0     
RA Whitec Brown b Sadiq Mohammad5     
MNS Taylorb Graveney24     
B Steadb Sadiq Mohammad58     
+DA Pullanc Brown b Sadiq Mohammad0     
PA Wilkinsonc Milton b Sadiq Mohammad4     
W Taylornot out6     
Extras(8 b, 3 lb)11
Total(all out, 75.1 overs)217
Fall of wickets:
1-6, 2-74, 3-84, 4-84, 5-110, 6-132, 7-206, 8-206, 9-206, 10-217 (75.1 ov)
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davey12   3491--
Brown18   4453--
Knight4   0190--
Mortimore24   10411--
Sadiq Mohammad10.11444--
Graveney7   581--

Gloucestershire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CA Miltonc Bolus b MNS Taylor21     
Sadiq Mohammadc Pullan b W Taylor46     
Zaheer Abbasc White b Stead13     
RDV Knightc sub b White12     
DR Shepherdc Stead b White8     
RB Nichollslbw b Stead37     
*AS Brownb Stead21     
JB Mortimoreb White9     
DA Graveneynot out7     
+R Swetmanc Pullan b Stead8     
J Daveylbw b White1     
Extras(7 b, 4 lb, 6 nb, 1 w)18
Total(all out, 86.3 overs)201
Fall of wickets:
1-64, 2-85, 3-104, 4-115, 5-116, 6-170, 7-177, 8-191, 9-200, 10-201 (86.3 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stead23   12324--
W Taylor12   2451--
Wilkinson13   3360--
MNS Taylor13   6141--

Nottinghamshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SB Hassanlbw b Brown39     
*JB Bolusc Swetman b Mortimore13     
RA Whitelbw b Brown22     
MJ Smedleynot out69     
DW Randallc Swetman b Brown2     
MNS Taylorc Shepherd b Brown3     
B Steadc Brown b Davey16     
G Frostlbw b Sadiq Mohammad0     
+DA Pullanc Milton b Sadiq Mohammad7     
PA Wilkinsonc Milton b Sadiq Mohammad0     
W Taylorb Mortimore0     
Extras(3 b, 1 lb, 3 nb)7
Total(all out, 62.5 overs)178
Fall of wickets:
1-47, 2-65, 3-91, 4-99, 5-104, 6-141, 7-142, 8-169, 9-169, 10-178 (62.5 ov)
Gloucestershire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Davey11   1311--
Brown14   5274--
Sadiq Mohammad7   1263--
Graveney12   6290--

Gloucestershire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
CA Miltonb W Taylor46     
Sadiq Mohammadc Pullan b Stead14     
Zaheer Abbasc Randall b W Taylor29     
RDV Knightb White5     
DR Shepherdc Hassan b Stead6     
RB Nichollslbw b White10     
*AS Brownb W Taylor0     
JB Mortimoreb W Taylor7     
+R Swetmanc and b White17     
DA Graveneyc Randall b White11     
J Daveynot out1     
Extras(4 lb, 2 nb)6
Total(all out, 60 overs)152
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-68, 3-79, 4-92, 5-107, 6-111, 7-111, 8-123, 9-151, 10-152 (60 ov)
Nottinghamshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Stead17   3492--
W Taylor13   1344--
MNS Taylor7   2180--
White23   8454--

--> B Stead (1) passed his previous highest score of 53 in first-class matches
--> B Stead (1) passed his previous highest score of 53 in County Championship matches
--> CA Milton (1) passed 31500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 15
--> RDV Knight (1) passed 1000 runs in County Championship matches for the season when he reached 4
--> Sadiq Mohammad achieved his best innings bowling analysis in County Championship matches in the Nottinghamshire first innings (previous best was 4-51)
--> W Taylor reached 50 wickets in County Championship matches for the season when taking his 1st wicket in the Gloucestershire first innings
--> JB Mortimore reached 1700 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 2nd wicket in the Nottinghamshire second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive