Natal v South African Defence Force
South African Defence Force Championships 1987/88
VenueKingsmead, Durban on 30th September, 1st, 2nd October 1987 (3-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSouth African Defence Force won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNatal won by 2 wickets
UmpiresAA Fisher, TL Pole
Close of play day 1
Close of play day 2

South African Defence Force first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RF Pienaarc Norman b McGlashan38     
PG Ammlbw b McGlashan48     
+EJ Venterc Madsen b Norman22     
MJR Rindelc Norman b McGlashan29     
MB Billsonnot out18     
AJ Fordec McGlashan b Lister-James11     
RP Richardsonnot out0     
WM van der Merwedid not bat      
MJ Morrisdid not bat      
RJ Varnerdid not bat      
AA Donalddid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 7 lb, 8 nb, 1 w)20
Total(5 wickets, innings closed, 50 overs)186
Fall of wickets:
1-64, 2-121, 3-131, 4-169, 5-186
Natal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Packer10   1460--
Clare8   1280--
Norman9   1231--
Lister-James5   1171--
McGlashan15   1533--
Daniels3   180--

Natal first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Whitfieldlbw b Morris50     
AC Hudsonb Pienaar40     
MB Loganc Venter b Donald39     
NP Danielsc Billson b Varner23     
*+TR Madsenb Donald34     
CM Lister-Jamesnot out2     
D Bestalldid not bat      
D Normandid not bat      
RK McGlashandid not bat      
TJ Packerdid not bat      
MD Claredid not bat      
Extras(3 lb, 4 nb, 2 w)9
Total(5 wickets, declared, 46.3 overs)197
Fall of wickets:
1-64, 2-126, 3-148, 4-189, 5-197 (46.3 ov)
South African Defence Force bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Varner7   0291--
Pienaar9   1431--
van der Merwe7   1410--
Morris7   1221--
Richardson5   0170--

South African Defence Force second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*RF Pienaarc Daniels b McGlashan32     
PG Ammc Lister-James b McGlashan54     
+EJ Venterc and b McGlashan41     
MJR Rindelc Hudson b McGlashan36     
MB Billsonb Daniels40     
AJ Fordec Madsen b McGlashan30     
RP Richardsonc Clare b McGlashan1     
WM van der Merwenot out22     
MJ Morrisst Madsen b McGlashan1     
RJ Varnerc Madsen b McGlashan0     
AA Donaldb Daniels1     
Extras(4 b, 3 lb)7
Total(all out, 86.1 overs)265
Fall of wickets:
1-48, 2-122, 3-135, 4-190, 5-215, 6-229, 7-261, 8-264, 9-264, 10-265 (86.1 ov)
Natal bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Packer5   0190--
Clare8   2200--
Norman5   190--
Lister-James9   2280--
McGlashan35   11228--
Bestall2   0160--

Natal second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
BJ Whitfieldb Pienaar17     
AC Hudsonnot out115     
MB Loganc Venter b Morris18     
NP Danielsc and b Pienaar5     
*+TR Madsenb Rindel61     
CM Lister-Jamesb Pienaar25     
D Bestallb Pienaar3     
D Normanc and b Rindel0     
RK McGlashanc Billson b Pienaar5     
TJ Packernot out0     
MD Claredid not bat      
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 3 w)6
Total(8 wickets, 65.5 overs)255
Fall of wickets:
1-25, 2-67, 3-168, 4-171, 5-181, 6-222, 7-224, 8-251
South African Defence Force bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Donald10   2270--
Varner7   1200--
van der Merwe8   0300--
Morris7   0331--
Rindel12   1472--

--> Each first innings was limited to 50 overs
--> MJ Morris made his debut in first-class matches
--> RJ Varner made his debut in first-class matches
--> MJ Morris made his last appearance in first-class matches
--> BJ Whitfield (1) passed 4000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 38
--> PG Amm (2) passed 1500 runs in first-class matches when he reached 23
--> EJ Venter (2) passed his previous highest score of 22 in first-class matches
--> MJR Rindel (2) passed 1000 runs in first-class matches when he reached 4
--> AJ Forde (2) passed his previous highest score of 26 in first-class matches
--> AC Hudson (2) passed his previous highest score of 71 in first-class matches
--> AC Hudson (2) made his first century in first-class matches
--> RK McGlashan achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches in the South African Defence Force second innings (previous best was 5-53)
--> RF Pienaar reached 100 wickets in first-class matches when taking his 5th wicket in the Natal second innings





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive