South Africa v England
Marylebone Cricket Club in South Africa 1905/06 (2nd Test)
VenueOld Wanderers, Johannesburg on 6th, 7th, 8th March 1906 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossEngland won the toss and decided to bat
ResultSouth Africa won by 9 wickets
UmpiresJ Phillips, FE Smith
Close of play day 1South Africa (1) 4/0 (Tancred 0*, Shalders 4*)
Close of play day 2South Africa (1) 277 all out

England first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*PF Warnerc White b Snooke262-- 
JN Crawfordc Faulkner b Schwarz2399752- 
D Dentonc and b Sinclair11111-- 
FL Fanec and b Faulkner826251- 
LJ Moonlbw b Sinclair30107803- 
EG Wynyardb Vogler0108-- 
AE Relfc White b Faulkner2464484- 
S Haighc Hathorn b Faulkner3920-- 
+JH Boardb Sinclair065-- 
WS Leesnot out2532305- 
C Blytheb Schwarz1233251- 
Extras(10 b, 5 lb, 5 nb)20
Total(all out, 66.2 overs)148
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Warner), 2-13 (Denton), 3-28 (Fane), 4-62 (Crawford), 5-66 (Wynyard), 6-102 (Moon), 7-109 (Relf), 8-109 (Board), 9-111 (Haigh), 10-148 (Blythe, 66.2 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snooke7   2151--
Sinclair25   11353--
Faulkner17   6383--
Vogler9   3181--
Nourse3   160--

South Africa first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Tancredb Crawford28103874- 
WA Shaldersb Crawford3799855- 
GC Whiteb Relf2134222- 
AW Noursec Denton b Haigh2195853- 
CMH Hathornrun out1767603- 
GA Faulknerc Denton b Lees1740253- 
JH Sinclairst Board b Blythe66808071 
SJ Snookeb Haigh2437402- 
RO Schwarzb Haigh254-- 
*+PW Sherwellnot out2027223- 
AEE Voglerb Haigh616201- 
Extras(9 b, 8 lb, 1 nb)18
Total(all out, 100.2 overs)277
Fall of wickets:
1-70 (Shalders), 2-71 (Tancred), 3-100 (Nourse), 4-131 (White), 5-133 (Hathorn), 6-175 (Faulkner), 7-232 (Snooke), 8-242 (Schwarz), 9-252 (Sinclair), 10-277 (Vogler, 100.2 ov)
England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lees26   13471--
Blythe25   6661--
Relf18   4361--
Crawford11   1442--
Wynyard1   020--

England second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*PF Warnerb Snooke011-- 
JN Crawfordc Sherwell b Snooke621201- 
D Dentonc Sherwell b Snooke41210-- 
FL Faneb Sinclair651721457- 
LJ Moonc Sherwell b Sinclair054-- 
EG Wynyardc and b Vogler3093751- 
AE Relfc White b Schwarz3797754- 
WS Leesb Schwarz488-- 
+JH Boardb Schwarz274-- 
S Haighnot out076-- 
C Blytheb Schwarz021-- 
Extras(12 b)12
Total(all out, 70.5 overs)160
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Warner), 2-10 (Denton), 3-19 (Crawford), 4-25 (Moon), 5-97 (Wynyard), 6-138 (Fane), 7-151 (Lees), 8-157 (Board), 9-160 (Relf), 10-160 (Blythe, 70.5 ov)
South Africa bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Snooke15   3403--
Sinclair22   6362--
Faulkner7   0190--
Nourse6   1160--
Vogler6   271--

South Africa second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
LJ Tancrednot out1826303- 
WA Shaldersc Board b Lees021-- 
GC Whitenot out937271- 
AW Noursedid not bat      
CMH Hathorndid not bat      
GA Faulknerdid not bat      
JH Sinclairdid not bat      
SJ Snookedid not bat      
RO Schwarzdid not bat      
*+PW Sherwelldid not bat      
AEE Voglerdid not bat      
Extras(5 lb, 1 nb)6
Total(1 wicket, 10.5 overs)33
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Shalders)
England bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Lees4   0161--
Crawford2   140--

--> The match was scheduled for four days but completed in three.
--> LJ Moon made his debut in Test matches
--> EG Wynyard made his last appearance in Test matches
--> WS Lees (1) passed his previous highest score of 11 in Test matches
--> JH Sinclair (1) 50 in 71 balls with 4 fours and 1 six
--> SJ Snooke (1) passed his previous highest score of 19 in Test matches
--> FL Fane (2) 50 in 112 balls with 5 fours
--> EG Wynyard (2) passed his previous highest score of 29 in Test matches
--> AE Relf (2) passed his previous highest score of 31 in Test matches
--> LJ Moon made his debut for England in First-Class matches
--> SJ Snooke achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed JN Crawford in the England second innings (previous best was 2-38)
--> RO Schwarz achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Test matches when he dismissed C Blythe in the England second innings (previous best was 3-72)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2022 CricketArchive