Bangladesh v India
Pepsi Asia Cup 1997
VenueSinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo on 24th July 1997 (50-over match)
Balls per over6
TossIndia won the toss and decided to field
ResultIndia won by 9 wickets
PointsBangladesh 0; India 2
UmpiresKT Francis, Mohammad Nazir
TV umpireMohammad Asghar
RefereeJR Reid
Man of the MatchSC Ganguly

Bangladesh inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
Athar Ali Khanlbw b Tendulkar3369994-47.83
Naimur Rahmanlbw b Kuruvilla016--0.00
Minhajul Abedinc Karim b Prasad32221--13.64
Aminul Islamc Kumble b Singh3057882-52.63
*Akram Khanc Jadeja b Kumble1124381-45.83
+Khaled Mashudc Ganguly b Singh1230301-40.00
Enamul Haquerun out (Ganguly)4819--50.00
Mafizur Rahmannot out1530342-50.00
Hasibul Hossainlbw b Singh021--0.00
Salahuddin Ahmednot out31823--16.67
Zakir Hasandid not bat      
Extras(15 lb, 2 nb, 2 w)19
Total(8 wickets, innings closed, 43 overs)130
Fall of wickets:
1-2 (Naimur Rahman), 2-12 (Minhajul Abedin), 3-57 (Athar Ali Khan), 4-79 (Aminul Islam), 5-92 (Akram Khan), 6-100 (Khaled Mashud), 7-104 (Enamul Haque), 8-104 (Hasibul Hossain)
India bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Prasad7   11511142.002.14
Kuruvilla6   0281-136.004.67
Kumble10   3171-160.001.70
Ganguly6   1240---4.00
Tendulkar5   01811-30.003.60
Singh9   2133--18.001.44

India inningsRunsBallsMins4s6sS-Rate
SC Gangulynot out73527582140.38
*SR Tendulkarb Enamul Haque2821365-133.33
M Azharuddinnot out2320383-115.00
NS Sidhudid not bat      
RS Draviddid not bat      
AD Jadejadid not bat      
RR Singhdid not bat      
+SS Karimdid not bat      
A Kumbledid not bat      
A Kuruvilladid not bat      
BKV Prasaddid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 1 lb, 1 nb, 2 w)8
Total(1 wicket, 15 overs)132
Fall of wickets:
1-54 (Tendulkar)
Bangladesh bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-BallsS-RateEcon
Hasibul Hossain3   0250-2-8.33
Zakir Hasan2   0170---8.50
Salahuddin Ahmed3   02202--7.33
Enamul Haque3   0341--18.0011.33
Mafizur Rahman2   0160---8.00
Minhajul Abedin2   0130---6.50

--> The match was reduced to 43 overs per side
--> Zakir Hasan made his debut in ODI matches
--> Athar Ali Khan passed 500 runs in ListA matches when he reached 2
--> SC Ganguly 50 in 39 balls, 45 minutes with 6 fours and 2 sixes
--> Zakir Hasan made his debut for Bangladesh in ListA matches
--> Zakir Hasan made his debut in Sri Lanka in ListA matches
--> RR Singh achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ListA matches in the Bangladesh innings (previous best was 3-33)
--> RR Singh achieved his best innings bowling analysis in ODI matches when he dismissed Hasibul Hossain in the Bangladesh innings (previous best was 2-18)

Match commenced sixty minutes after scheduled start, reduced to 47 overs a side. Bangladesh innings closed when rain returned after 43 overs.
India required 131 to win in 20 overs to qualify for the final on run rate.
India innings: 1x7 ball over (allowed by KT Francis for Sheikh Salahuddin in the 8th over of the innings).





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive