Gauteng v Northerns
SuperSport Series 1997/98
VenueNew Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg on 23rd, 24th, 25th, 26th January 1998 (4-day match)
Balls per over6
TossNortherns won the toss and decided to bat
ResultNortherns won by 236 runs
PointsGauteng 6 (Batting 2, Bowling 4); Northerns 15 (Batting 2, Bowling 3)
UmpiresEH Baillie, WA Diedricks
Close of play day 1Gauteng (1) 3/0 (Koenig 0*, Benfield 3*)
Close of play day 2Gauteng (1) 121/5 (Rutherford 26*, Pothas 20*)
Close of play day 3Northerns (2) 196/3 (van Jaarsveld 107*, de Vos 53*)
Man of the MatchM van Jaarsveld

Northerns first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PJR Steync Pothas b Kidwell2836555- 
D Jordaanc de Bruyn b Kidwell416221- 
G Drosc Pothas b Kidwell21320-- 
M van Jaarsveldc Eksteen b Veenstra736541- 
DJJ de Vosc Rutherford b Kidwell641481897- 
P de Bruync Rutherford b Kidwell1223461- 
S Elworthyc Kidwell b Eksteen1441513- 
+DJ Smithc Crookes b Eksteen11415-- 
*MJG Davisc Pothas b Kidwell426914361 
PS de Villiersc Rutherford b Kidwell01323-- 
GJ Smithnot out51958841 
Extras(1 b, 2 lb, 3 nb, 4 w)10
Total(all out, 83.3 overs)235
Fall of wickets:
1-19 (Jordaan), 2-33 (Dros), 3-36 (Steyn), 4-58 (van Jaarsveld), 5-91 (de Bruyn), 6-116 (Elworthy), 7-120 (DJ Smith), 8-136 (de Vos), 9-141 (de Villiers), 10-235 (Davis, 83.3 ov)
Gauteng bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Terbrugge17   3490--
Veenstra20   8571--
Eksteen22   9492--
de Bruyn2   019011

Gauteng first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
SG Koenigc DJ Smith b Elworthy2554912- 
MR Benfieldc Jordaan b de Villiers1150641- 
ND McKenziec DJ Smith b GJ Smith1834442- 
*KR Rutherfordnot out7817226511- 
DN Crookesc DJ Smith b Elworthy4815-- 
Z de Bruync DJ Smith b Elworthy31817-- 
+N Pothasc Jordaan b GJ Smith27671052- 
RE Veenstrac DJ Smith b GJ Smith2610-- 
CE Eksteennot out1762971- 
EW Kidwelldid not bat      
DJ Terbruggedid not bat      
Extras(4 b, 2 lb, 10 nb, 1 w)17
Total(7 wickets, declared, 76.4 overs)202
Fall of wickets:
1-38 (Benfield), 2-52 (Koenig), 3-63 (McKenzie), 4-72 (Crookes), 5-78 (de Bruyn), 6-136 (Pothas), 7-138 (Veenstra)
Northerns bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
de Villiers19.44591-1
Elworthy24   10513-2
GJ Smith21   562317
de Bruyn12   2240--

Northerns second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
PJR Steynrun out (de Bruyn)037-- 
D Jordaanc Rutherford b Eksteen246711121 
G Droslbw b Kidwell011-- 
M van Jaarsveldc Rutherford b Kidwell13420929017- 
DJJ de Voslbw b Eksteen541191377- 
S Elworthyc Veenstra b Eksteen4771- 
+DJ Smithc Pothas b Eksteen1216182- 
P de Bruynnot out2134463- 
*MJG Davisnot out1412233- 
PS de Villiersdid not bat      
GJ Smithdid not bat      
Extras(6 b, 2 lb, 3 nb, 3 w)14
Total(7 wickets, declared, 77.2 overs)277
Fall of wickets:
1-0 (Steyn), 2-0 (Dros), 3-62 (Jordaan), 4-198 (de Vos), 5-206 (Elworthy), 6-226 (DJ Smith), 7-248 (van Jaarsveld)
Gauteng bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Terbrugge12   5240-1
Kidwell20   1103232
Veenstra10   3470-1
Eksteen26   7634--
Crookes9   0280--

Gauteng second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
MR Benfieldc de Villiers b GJ Smith72626-- 
SG Koeniglbw b de Villiers31331-- 
ND McKenzieb GJ Smith01121-- 
*KR Rutherfordc van Jaarsveld b de Villiers069-- 
DN Crookesc de Bruyn b de Villiers032-- 
Z de Bruync van Jaarsveld b de Villiers0814-- 
+N Pothasrun out (GJ Smith)067-- 
RE Veenstrac DJ Smith b GJ Smith121321-1 
CE Eksteenc Davis b Elworthy1354762- 
DJ Terbruggec de Villiers b Elworthy1757983- 
EW Kidwellnot out1619-- 
Extras(4 b, 14 lb, 2 nb, 1 w)21
Total(all out, 33.4 overs)74
Fall of wickets:
1-12 (Benfield), 2-12 (Koenig), 3-12 (Rutherford), 4-12 (Crookes), 5-12 (McKenzie), 6-12 (Pothas), 7-12 (de Bruyn), 8-25 (Veenstra), 9-54 (Eksteen), 10-74 (Terbrugge, 33.4 ov)
Northerns bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
de Villiers13   10114--
GJ Smith9   516311
de Bruyn5   1160-1

--> M van Jaarsveld (2) passed his previous highest score of 109 in first-class matches
--> DJ Smith made his debut for Northerns in first-class matches
--> EW Kidwell achieved his best innings bowling analysis in first-class matches when he dismissed MJG Davis in the Northerns first innings (previous best was 6-23)





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2020 CricketArchive