Staffordshire v Bedfordshire
Minor Counties Championship 1905
VenueOldfields Ground, Uttoxeter on 21st, 22nd August 1905 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossBedfordshire won the toss and decided to field
ResultStaffordshire won by 76 runs
PointsStaffordshire 3; Bedfordshire 0
UmpiresW Copeland, A Stockwin
Close of play day 1Staffordshire (2) 26/2 (Brown 12*, RC Page 2*)

Staffordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Brownb Morcom8     
A Hollowoodb Wharmby1     
SF Barnesc Apthorp b Morcom1     
RC Pageb Wharmby6     
JB Feredayc Morcom b Wharmby5     
EH Bourneb Morcom62     
EW Pagec Rice b Brown21     
*HD Strattonb Brown1     
A Tinsleyc Holdstock b Moss13     
RJ Meenot out10     
+J Pooleb Morcom0     
Extras(2 b, 4 lb, 1 w)7
Total(all out, 70 overs)135
Fall of wickets:
1-9, 2-11, 3-11, 4-16, 5-33, 6-66, 7-77, 8-112, 9-135, 10-135 (70 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morcom20   73341-
Wharmby24   9463--
Brown15   8262--
Moss6   2141--
Orr5   190--

Bedfordshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HJJ Hodgkinsb Mee6     
G Pollittc Mee b Barnes0     
GE Wharmbyc Mee b Barnes7     
AF Morcomc RC Page b Mee0     
RW Ricec Tinsley b Mee10     
TA Brownlbw b Mee13     
RH Mossb Mee0     
WE Kingb Barnes4     
HF Holdstockb Barnes0     
*HR Orrb Mee0     
+EE Apthorpnot out5     
Extras(1 b, 1 lb)2
Total(all out, 28.4 overs)47
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-14, 3-14, 4-16, 5-26, 6-26, 7-41, 8-41, 9-41, 10-47 (28.4 ov)
Staffordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Mee14   5276--

Staffordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
W Brownb Wharmby12     
A Hollowoodb Wharmby4     
SF Barnesb Wharmby2     
RC Pageb Wharmby7     
JB Feredaylbw b Wharmby13     
EH Bournerun out8     
EW Pageb Brown4     
*HD Strattonb Brown0     
A Tinsleynot out6     
RJ Meeb Brown0     
+J Pooleb Wharmby2     
Extras(6 b, 4 lb)10
Total(all out, 48.2 overs)68
Fall of wickets:
1-11, 2-19, 3-26, 4-39, 5-53, 6-55, 7-58, 8-63, 9-63, 10-68 (48.2 ov)
Bedfordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Morcom6   2130--
Brown18   5243--

Bedfordshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
HJJ Hodgkinsrun out5     
G Pollittc Fereday b Barnes0     
GE Wharmbyb Barnes16     
AF Morcomb Mee25     
RW Riceb Mee4     
TA Brownb Barnes4     
RH Mossb Barnes4     
WE Kingb Mee14     
HF Holdstocklbw b Barnes6     
+EE Apthorpc and b Mee1     
*HR Orrnot out0     
Extras(1 lb)1
Total(all out, 31 overs)80
Fall of wickets:
1-0, 2-16, 3-25, 4-34, 5-41, 6-49, 7-71, 8-76, 9-78, 10-80 (31 ov)
Staffordshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Barnes16   4495--
Mee15   5304--

--> RJ Mee achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Bedfordshire first innings (previous best was 4-54)
--> RJ Mee achieved his first five wickets in an innings in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Bedfordshire first innings
--> GE Wharmby reached 200 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches when taking his 3rd wicket in the Staffordshire second innings
--> TA Brown reached 350 wickets in Minor Counties Championship matches when taking his 1st wicket in the Staffordshire second innings

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Staffordshire won this low-scoring return match by 76 runs at 3.50 pm on the second day. The match between the two sides at Bedford in July had been drawn. For the winners, Barnes and Mee bowled unchanged through both Bedfordshire innings, taking 9 wickets for 67 runs and 10 for 57 respectively. There was 1 five and 4 fours in Bourne's 62, scored in 2 hours. For the losers, Wharmby took 9 wickets in the match for 67 runs. Orr played with a damaged shoulder caused by a fall.
[Missing: Complete.]
Sources: Staffordshire Scorebook; Staffordshire Advertiser 26 August; Staffordshire Sentinel 21,22 August; Birmingham Daily Post 22,23 August; Bedfordshire Mercury 25 August; Bedfordshire Standard 25 August; Leighton Buzzard Reporter 26 August; The Sportsman 22,23 August.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive