Wiltshire v Surrey Second XI
Minor Counties Championship 1905
VenueHardenhuish Park, Chippenham on 30th, 31st August 1905 (2-day match)
Balls per over6
TossSurrey Second XI won the toss and decided to bat
ResultWiltshire won by 4 wickets
PointsWiltshire 3; Surrey Second XI 0
Close of play day 1Wiltshire (1) 73/8 (Overton 9*)

Surrey Second XI first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
T Bowringc and b Grant0     
FW Robartsc Newman b Grant6     
FL Nightingalec Overton b Smith35     
EG Goatlylbw b Grant17     
JH Moulderc Newman b Smith3     
+F Stedmanc Perkins b Grant5     
*WT Garrettb Smith0     
JW Meadsc and b Grant2     
LMH Gooderc Perkins b Smith18     
WG Pringlenot out10     
WA Springc Smith b Grant10     
Total(all out, 34.1 overs)112
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-112 (34.1 ov)
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Smith13   1374--
Overton4   0160--

Wiltshire first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TTN Perkinsst Stedman b Meads11     
+TS Lucec Robarts b Meads15     
AW Newmanb Pringle4     
HM Butterworthc Stedman b Pringle13     
SJH Tauntonst Stedman b Meads2     
ES Warrilowst Stedman b Meads3     
E Grantb Gooder9     
*AM Millerc Stedman b Meads1     
W Overtonnot out20     
WRR Smithc Robarts b Meads13     
T Smartb Meads9     
Extras(? b, 0 lb, 0 nb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 61 overs)111
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-73, 9-?, 10-111 (61 ov)
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Meads30   9367--
Spring11   4190--
Pringle12   12221-
Gooder8   1231--

Surrey Second XI second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
T Bowringb Smith0     
FW Robartsb Grant3     
FL Nightingaleb Smith5     
EG Goatlyb Smith7     
JH Moulderc and b Smith3     
+F Stedmanc Overton b Grant0     
LMH Gooderb Grant2     
*WT Garrettnot out1     
JW Meadsc Newman b Smith19     
WG Pringleb Smith4     
WA Springc Warrilow b Smith2     
Total(all out, 20 overs)51
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?, 7-?, 8-?, 9-?, 10-51 (20 ov)
Wiltshire bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Grant10   4173--
Smith10   2297--

Wiltshire second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
TTN Perkinsc Stedman b Gooder14     
+TS Lucelbw b Meads13     
AW Newmanb Gooder6     
HM Butterworthb Gooder1     
SJH Tauntonb Gooder3     
ES Warrilowc Stedman b Meads0     
W Overtonnot out4     
E Grantnot out9     
*AM Millerdid not bat      
WRR Smithdid not bat      
T Smartdid not bat      
Total(6 wickets, 16.5 overs)54
Fall of wickets:
1-?, 2-?, 3-?, 4-?, 5-?, 6-?
Surrey Second XI bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Gooder8   4214--

--> WT Garrett made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> WG Pringle made his last appearance in Minor Counties Championship matches
--> JW Meads achieved his best innings bowling analysis in Minor Counties Championship matches in the Wiltshire first innings (previous best was 5-31)

This card comes from the Minor Counties Research Project - research is continuing on this scorecard which can be expected to change.
Wiltshire won this return match, which had been set aside for the benefit of Tom Smart, by four wickets on the second day. When the teams had met at The Oval at the start of the month the match had been drawn. For the winners, Smith took 11 wickets in the match for 66 runs, including 7 for 29 in the second innings. For Surrey 2nd XI, Meads took 7 wickets for 36 runs in the Wiltshire first innings. Nightingale's 35 was the highest score of the match. The match aggregate of 328 runs was the third lowest for a completed match during the season. The five dismissals by Stedman in the Wiltshire first innings and the seven dismissals in the match were both the highest made by a wicket-keeper during the season.
[Missing: Umpires; extras breakdown; fall of wickets; time completed.]
Sources: Devizes and Wiltshire Gazette 7 September; Swindon Advertiser 1 September; Wiltshire Advertiser 7 September; Wiltshire Times 2 September; Western Daily Press 31 August,1 September; Surrey Year Book 1905, p 119; Sporting Life 31 August,1 September; The Sportsman 31 August,1 September.





This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles


| Privacy Policy | FAQs | Contact |
Copyright © 2003-2019 CricketArchive